Skip to content

Gaarawarr’s EPIC PQ Crawl #1 – Empire Ch 1 thru Ch 22

April 13, 2009

Yes, you read that right.  Chapter 1 all the way through Chapter 22 in Empire.

Now, I like to consider myself a pretty well-rounded WAR player.  I’ve played every scenario in the game (I think), done a lot of PQs, thousands of quests, lots of Lairs, all types of crafting and gathering, thousands of Tome unlocks, a good amount of RvR (I’ve taken BOs, Keeps and Fortresses, I’ve worked with 6-8 warbands across all three pairings to push to the Inevitable City, I was there for the first time anyone on our server pushed to Stage 2 of a City Siege, I’ve defended Altdorf over and over and over)…   I’ve done a lot.

But I don’t think I’ve ever had this much fun.

I’m pretty sure it was because, for once, everyone was there for the same reason:  to have fun, no pressure.  I know that sounds weird to say in a video game, but it’s true.  Most of the time people are in-game, they’ve got all these expectations on themselves, from getting X amount of XP so they can level to getting X amount of RP so they can level to pushing Keeps/Fortresses/Cities and on and on and on.

The times you don’t pressure yourself in an RvR game like this tend to be few and far between and tend to not last long.  Like screwing around somewhere with friends doing a PQ or hanging out in vent and chatting while farming some mob/npc.  Even the fun things I’ve been part of in the past like a Chicken Brigade in T1 with T4 players only lasted an hour and stopped being as much fun about the time the T1 players started ignoring the other T1 players and started going straight for the chickens every time.

This time though, even though we had a goal (and a pretty big one) it felt like there was no real pressure.  Ultimately because if it didn’t happen, it didn’t matter.  This was all about having fun, meeting new people and enjoying the game.  And that’s exactly what we did.

Something this epic deserves an epic review, so that’s what I’m going to give it.  I’ve got screenshots of (almost) all the Contribution screens to prove we did it all, I’ve got pages of notes of the good, the bad and the ugly, and I’ve even got some video footage from Redztk of the last group of PQs that looks really good (make sure you choose the HD option).

For those that don’t want to read the epic portion of the review, here’s a non-epic recap of an epic event so you get the gist of what happened.

Non-Epic Recap

64 PQs Attempted, 12 hours total spent on the crawl, 60+ different characters (some may have been alts), ~250 PQ Bags total, 7 bugged PQs with 5 of those being unstartable/finishable

For those that want the epic version, here goes…

EPIC Recap

I advertised the event on both the Official Forums and the WHA Forums during the week before the event as well as spreading the word in-game to my Guild and Alliance as well as letting a few other Guild Leaders know to spread the word.

We started the Crawl in Grimmenhagen Village in Nordland.  About 15 minutes to Midnight (all times in PST), I switched to Gaarawarr and started grouping people as they sent tells for invites.  At Midnight, I took a screenshot of those at Grimmenhagen and then we were off!

PQ #1 – Raven Host Vanguard

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Airknight, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia

Chapter 1 only has this PQ, so having it be a Normal PQ with numerous stages makes it a good introduction to PQs for new players.  After the first initial kill counts, you get multiple waves of enemies coming while you protect a friendly NPC.  Once that’s done, ominous thuds and falling trees in the distance make for a nice cinematic intro for an Empire toon’s first glimpse of a Hero and a Giant one at that!

PQ #2 – The Burning Windmill

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Airknight, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia

I love the windmills in this game, so what’s not to love about a PQ centered around one that’s on fire?  This one gives you two bosses at the end just in case you found one too easy.

PQ #3 – The Ruins of Schloss von Rubendorff

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Airknight, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Keldremar, Barbedwire

For what is now an Easy PQ, this one makes you do a lot of running around.  It’s kind of the first stop on a long trip of PQs where you can tell they weren’t designed to be this easy, but we’ll talk more about that later.

PQ #4 – The Norse are Coming!

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire, Thangrutirki

Ok, this one is cool.  I actually hadn’t done this one before on any toon.  The ships burning on the beach (see pic) and then the one coming in and dropping off waves of Norse give it a cinematic feel.  We had this odd issue where the T1 toons kept auto-flagging for PvP for no reason and then it would chicken us, hence me dead at the end.  Wasn’t the first time that happened during the crawl and definitely wasn’t the last.  Much love to our lvl 40 healers that kept getting chickened over and over throughout the first couple tiers.  :p

PQ #5 – Faewulf’s Rest

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire, Thangrutirki

This one surprised some people I think as we had a couple die during it.  hehe.  During a lot of these that I’d done before, I tried to not say anything and see people’s reactions.  Seeing “OMG!  WTH?!?!?” in chat is worth a rez or two, especially in T1.

PQ #6 – The Webworks

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire, Thangrutirki

Another PQ I hadn’t done before.  However, this is the first of many PQs that foreshadow later areas in the game.  This cave is used at least one other time for a PQ and may make an appearance elsewhere that I haven’t seen yet too.

PQ #7 – Pillager’s Approach

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire

This one has the “race” mechanic in it where you’re competing with the NPCs to reach your goal before they reach theirs.  If you don’t have enough people, this one will frustrate you quickly as there are a lot of NPCs to control.  We had more than enough, obviously.

PQ #8 – Altar of the Bloodbane

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire, Syder, Airknight, Petmykitten

By this point, the group was in a groove.  We actually finished this one so fast, I don’t remember any details.  lol.  I was also busy announcing that we’d moved to Norsca in Region and fielding questions about what we were doing in Region and /tells.  All I remember about this one is pointing out the Tome Unlock in the middle of it before moving on.

PQ #9 – Pit of the Forsaken

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Gizy, Barbedwire, Syder, Airknight, Petmykitten

Yeah, I know, Ulfenweyr should be next right?  It was in Stage 2 when we arrived and my original rules for the PQ Crawl stated we had to finish it from the beginning, so we moved on into this one.  The Pit is a fun PQ.  Lots of killing to be done here as you try and find all of the things you need for Stage 1.  The boss at the end is great as it’s the first time you see one in the game if I remember correctly, so the new players tend to be surprised.

PQ #10 -Ulfenweyr

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Airknight, Petmykitten

I’ve done this one a lot, which helped.  Tip:  The nurglings are behind the buildings.  We were very excited to finish our last Tier 1 PQ and move right on into Tier 2.  We actually hit this point pretty quick, which was nice.  It was the first point where I realized that this PQ Crawl may not take the 16-18 hours that I had planned for.  hehe.

PQ #11 – Welcome to Troll Country

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Airknight, Petmykitten, Memnarch

Why thank you, we’re happy to be here.  :p  When the Tier 1 players asked if they could keep going, we said “Hell yeah!” so they did.  As a matter of fact, Barbedwire was level 1 when they joined us if I remember right and they stayed with us well into Tier 2 and got quite a few levels along the way.  As for this PQ, it can be tough when done at the appropriate level because of the abilities Trolls have, but with this group it was merely a pitstop.

PQ #12 – Plague on the Wind

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Kayli, Lightnin, Johari, Abduction, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Airknight, Petmykitten, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall

I like the fire/plague cloud animations in this PQ.  People that play the game with low graphics due to system limitations really miss out on a lot of what makes this game visually stunning at times.  I have some screenshots later of us in combat that really show off some nice effects but forgot to take some here.

PQ #13 – Deathstone Quarry

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Lightnin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Petmykitten, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Ithnol

I love this PQ.  When the boss spawned, unattackable, right on top of some of our players, I think they almost wet themselves.  Really one of those unexpected moments and well worth not warning them…  :p

PQ #14 – The Blighted Farm

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Lightnin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Petmykitten, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Ithnol, Brotherbandaid, Creampuff

Stage 1 of this one, as with #13, goes fast if you know the trick to it.  By this point though, “ROFLStomp” would be the term I would use for what we were doing to these PQs.  The only thing slowing us down was respawn timers on mobs if there were a lot to kill and there weren’t enough there up front.

It was at this point though that someone pointed out that I wasn’t naked anymore.  Apparently instead of salvaging a pair of boots, I had equipped them.  I was wondering why I hadn’t gotten my naked PQ title yet.  😦

PQ #15 – Grave Diggers

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Lightnin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Petmykitten, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Ithnol, Brotherbandaid, Creampuff

So it was at the end of this PQ that I finally got my naked PQ title.  Yay!  Sadly, it was also at this PQ that we ran into our first a#$%le.  Upon arriving at the PQ with 15 people, a few of us were immediately assaulted with tells by someone standing there that said if we touched their mob, we would be reported for kill-stealing.

They were serious.

We all lol’d.  I attempted to converse with them in private via /tell to discuss what we were doing, which should have been obvious from my heralding our progress as we moved through the zone, but they decided to take it into Region chat and start making personal attacks at us.  A lot of things along the lines of how we’re obviously not mature if we’re 40 and doing T2 PQs and how it must make us feel manly, yada yada yada yawn.

Now, I’m not someone who generally likes to call people out in Region, but on occasions I make exceptions.  Sometimes someone’s behavior is so far out of line that “outing” them in front of their peers is the only way you’re going to change their behavior.  So anyway, we went off on them.  Nothing too “language-y”, but we basically shut them up.  Somewhere in our rant, I reminded them that it’s called a “PUBLIC QUEST” for a reason.  What’s funny is that if they’d just held their tongue for 4-5 minutes, we’d have rolled that PQ and moved out of their life.

People need to remember this as I actually saw someone in T4 try to go off on someone for doing a PQ with them.  The people were trying to help raise our PvE Pool for capturing the zone, but the ones going off on them apparently didn’t care.  They thought they were trying to steal their Gold Bags.  Heaven forbid.  Oh, I went off on them too.  :p  Ok, so maybe I have a pet peeve about PQs, sue me.

PQ #16 – Slayer’s Demise

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Lightnin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Ithnol, Brotherbandaid, Creampuff

(Oh, and here’s a shot of the level breakdown of people at this point as well.)

Man, this PQ just doesn’t have the greatness it had before.  It was always fun wading into battle with the Slayers and pummeling Trolls.  Now they just kind of fall over, even when done at the right level.  So here it comes folks:

Gaarawarr’s PQ Recommendation #1:  Make this the Hard PQ for this Chapter and make The Blighted Farm the Easy one.  Seriously.  This one just “feels” like it should be the epic fight what with three pissed-off slayers running around beating on things.  Mythic, take a page from Nike’s book here and Just Do It.

PQ #17 – Plague Trolls

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Lightnin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Syder, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Ithnol, Brotherbandaid, Creampuff

Honestly, I stood around and did nothing on this one.  Not because I was tired, but because I’d done this PQ a ton trying to get my Havoc Armor Set.  So I let other people flip Stage 1 and then I led them to the right spots for Stages 2 and 3 as they’re not really easily noticed.

PQ #18 – Lissariel’s Glade

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Suriyah

You know how slow you walk when you’re almost dead and you’re trying to move away from whatever is about to kill you?  Yeah…that’s what Stage 1 of this PQ felt like.  I mean, I know it’s a Hard difficulty PQ, but for the love of all that’s holy, Hard shouldn’t mean utterly boring.  Pick up the wood, carry it to the guy, repeat endlessly with the wood being all over and having a slow respawn.  Yup, you know it’s coming, and here it is:

Gaarawarr’s PQ Recommendation #2:  Keep this as the Hard PQ, just lower the number of items you have to relay and add kills for those sprites fluttering around and add more of them.  The boss fight is definitely one you want for a Hard PQ, it’s just that Stage 1 is so blah no one in their right mind will bother getting there.  (Yeah, I know, I’m not in my right mind, I did it.)

PQ #19 – Hochnar

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej

As we had just moved into a new zone, I was busy heralding our arrival and the group zerg’d this one right out from under me.  I think I hit something, but I don’t remember what it was…

PQ #20 – Siege of Bohsenfel’s

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Barbedwire, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej

Otherwise known as: Attack of the Chickens.  No, not really, but one of the T2 people got hit by the auto-flag PvP bug and the next thing you knew, there were chickens all over.  Good thing it was close to town as all the healers got hit first.  Somehow we managed to finish this one though and while people were regrouping our lvl 3 Bright Wizard got insta-gibbed at least three times.  Yeah, you heard right, we had a lvl 3 BW with us still at this point.

We’re.  That.  Good.  :p

Sadly, they logged at this point.  I think they finally realized they were a bit above their level, but I think they could have hung with us for at least another Tier.  /tiphat Barbedwire

PQ #21 – The Black Mire

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Schorcher

Totally no clue what happened here.  Not sure why.  I think everyone was in ROFLStomp mode and I totally missed it.

PQ #22 – Nurenmir’s Lancers

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Schorcher

On this one, we kept looking around going “Umm, where are they?”  Do it, you’ll understand.  Or don’t, you won’t miss much.

PQ #23 – Gore Wood

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Schorcher

This one’s a little blurry for me.  I was partly in /tells at the time, but I do remember it’s very AOE friendly.  I was having a /tell discussion with someone who had just had a discussion in Region with the guy we got into it with at Grave Diggers.  Yeah, that guy.  Apparently he’s an a#$ all the time, not just to us.  Makes me feel better.

PQ #24 – Howling Vale

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Schorcher

Again, the team rolled through this one so fast that I don’t remember it at all.  When they made these Easy, they really made them easy I guess.

PQ #25 – Wolfenburg

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Kaidin, Johari, Velia, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Zeej, Schorcher

Finally got to finish this one.  Never had before.  That’s about all I have to say about that.  We were all way too excited to be about to hit Tier 3 and so quickly.

I have to say, without all the people that joined me for this, I’d have still been back in the beginning of Troll Country at this point most likely.  That’s actually why I started it at Midnight.  I figured I’d be alone and doing this through at least Tier 3 without any sizable group.  Boy was I wrong.  Ironically, most people wanted to know how often I did this as they were having a blast and were hoping it was a regular occurrence.  Guess I’ll be doing #2 and #3 to knock out Elf and Dwarf a little sooner than I planned.  :p

PQ #26 – The Foetid Plains

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian

The fog of sleep decimated our crew as we moved to the new Tier, but luckily we picked up some fresh meat…err, I mean new people.  Yeah, that’s the ticket.  Oh, and this PQ was cool.  It got kinda “Little Shop of Horrors” at one point, but it was a good time.

PQ #27 – Tomb of the Traitor

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian

I thought I had done this before, but I guess I was wrong.  The tooltip on this one is a bit vague during the second stage, but it was fun running around in a good-sized group going “Is it over here?  How about down here?  Wait, did someone just kill one?  Where was it!?!?!?”  hehe

PQ #28 – Chaos Ruins

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian (Totally missed the screenie on this one, not sure why)

Creampuff actually got stuck in the wall in the Tomb at the beginning of this one but made it in time to stand with us under the Boss going “So when does he come down and fight?”  It’s funny when Bosses are scripted and you stomp their minions so hard they just stand there…

PQ #29 – Cult of the Magus

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian, Etherial

So the first time we tried this one, Stage 2 bugged out on us and we couldn’t complete it.  This is the second time I’ve encountered a bug like this with mobs and it’s centered around AOEing their spawn area as they’re spawning and unattackable or attempting to attack them while unattackable.  Basically, Stage 2 has orange-named NPCs spawning and moving to another area and they flag red once they get there.  We were near their spawn point and AOEing stuff when Stage 2 hit and poof, screwed ourselves.  So we left and came back after the Temple and finished it.  Still annoying though.

PQ #30 – Temple of Change

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian, Cococri, Etherial

Prelude to Ebon Keep.  Honestly though, this one and the Lake are challenging for their level.  We had a Bright Wizard who stacks Intelligence, and I mean STACKS it, so we put him on the middle while we killed the spawn in Stage 2.  He still couldn’t DPS the thing down fast at all.  If you’re around the level for this one and the Lake and are looking for a challenge, step right up.  You will not be disappointed.

PQ #31 – Lake of the Damned

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Aerikk, Turcote, Appalachian, Blooddrench, Etherial

So I put my armor on for this one.  Partly because I knew it was one tough SOB, but partly because we only had one healer left.  lol.  This PQ is THE TOUGHEST PQ IN TIER 3.  Period.  I’m gonna try not to ruin it for anyone, but I do have a screenie of part of it that kind of gives something away, but hey, it was cool.

Note to Mythic:  If you’re going to put in epicly large mobs for us to fight, at least let us pan our cameras back far enough to fit them in the pictures.  Sheesh.

PQ #32 – Echoes of War

Status – Bugged

So, yeah.  Sigh.  This one has worked before, I’ve done it.  However, currently it doesn’t leave Stage 1 it seems.  Too bad, I kind of liked this one and was looking forward to doing it with the group.

PQ #33 – The Grisly Herd

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian

So one healer caught back up and we added another, so off went my armor again.  Yay!

PQ #34 – Shrine of Tzeentch

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Memnarch, Cococri, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils

This one had us running all after Stage 1, it was a good change of pace.  The Hard ones definitely kept us working at this point and this was a good end to High Pass PQs.

PQ #35 – Wagon Defense

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Zeein

After a quick bio break at Chapter 13, we rolled right through this one.  By this point, the group had enough heals to not worry about anything and enough damage to melt all but the hardest of bosses.

PQ #36 – Witch Fire Glade

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Zeein

I cut the chat boxes out of the photos, but if I remember correctly, my comment was something along the lines of: “…and we shall rain fire and brimstone down upon ye witches and smite thee…”  That pretty much sums up what happened.

PQ #37 – Bitterschaum Swamp

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Zeein, Baddreams

The slow respawn rate on this PQ almost put some of us to sleep.  We were quickly awakened upon someone pointing out this interestingly-named fellow which brought quick laughter to vent.  /chuckle @ Devs.  Good show.

PQ #38 – Unterbaum Cemetary

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Baddreams

After having been slowed down a little at the last PQ, the wait at this one during the “guard” phases was bearable.  Well, the DPS had fun at least, the rest of us just stood around as the NPCs were melting faster than we could target them.

PQ #39 – Meuselbach Farm

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Baddreams, Ganges

After having visited, I think I’m going to turn down the investment opportunity at this time.  If you’ve spent any time in Altdorf, you know what I mean.  😉

PQ #40 – Unterbaum Castle

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Johari, Arvall, Creampuff, Aerikk, Turcote, Wounding, Popejoan, Galcian, Modern, Vepils, Baddreams

Sigh.  Everyone that had done this pre-1.2 was dreading coming to this one while I was eagerly awaiting it.  This was always one of the most epic PQs what with the height of the Castle and how you had to fight tooth and nail to get to the top only to be met by a Boss that would laugh at you as he sent you back to the Healer.

Now it’s boring.  Which means, you guessed it:

Gaarawarr’s PQ Recommendation #3:  This NEEDS to be the Hard PQ for this chapter.  The cemetary just isn’t epic enough.  Make the cemetary the Normal, the farm the Easy (maybe that will up its investment value) and make this one the Hard one.  We were even commenting on the jog up to the top, which is what it’s been toned down to, that the castle would make for an epic Fortress.  Just make multiple paths to the top but keep the feel of an epic climb and fight and you’d have one crazy end-game.  AOE would be king here, but isn’t it in regular ones already?

PQ #41 – Root of Rebellion

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Turcote, Blooddrench, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Vepils, Calypso, Baddreams

Tier 4 baby!  God it felt good to get here.  Not just to remove worrying about any accidental-chickenings, but just to feel like you were almost done…  As for this PQ, it went pretty quickly.  Everyone was bloodthirsty since it was finally T4, especially the lowbies that hadn’t been here before.

PQ #42 – Fields of Ruin

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Turcote, Blooddrench, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Vepils, Calypso, Baddreams

Ok, so if you do this one, you have to let them set the fields on fire at least once.  muahahahaha….BURN!!  BURN!!!!!

PQ #43 – Heinrich Estate

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Turcote, Blooddrench, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Vepils, Calypso, Baddreams

So we all hate this guy now.  Seriously, he won’t get any more help from us.  Why?  Well, I’m going to tell you why.  (Saw that coming, didn’t you?)  The first time we did this, we had this epic battle on the walls and then moved into the building and up the stairs only to have him bug out on us and not do anything.  Sigh.  So we go outside and start it over, we split our group so half stayed outside and half moved upstairs to talk to him and still nothing….and then bam, he responded randomly.  We rejoiced!!!….then promptly cursed his name repeatedly as he meandered slowly down the stairs.  Aaarrgghh!!!!  But I got a couple good screenies out of it, so here ya go.

PQ #44 – Reik River Bandits

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Turcote, Blooddrench, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Vepils, Calypso, Baddreams, Dirshaun, Aleixa

This one is way easier now.  I remember trying it before and it was next to impossible without a huge group.  However, we were all yelling at each other because of a graphic-bug (imagine that) that made it look like people had the items when they had already put them down.  But we got it finally and moved on.

PQ #45 – The Enemy Within

Status – Bugged

To a bugged PQ.  Sigh.  None of the NPCs that were still around would respond to us at all.  Ever.  We killed a couple randomly placed Heros and moved on.

PQ #46 – Castle Grauenberg

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Quothe, Turcote, Blooddrench, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Vepils, Calypso, Baddreams, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Thaeric, Skynetmage

Man, I remember the first time I did this one.  We go stomped by the first Lord I’d ever seen in the game and barely made it back in time to kill him before the time ran out.  Yeah, with this group he died much faster.  Although, he still spawns CRAZY amounts of horrors.  I just stood back and watched and giggled.  Yeah, that’s right, giggled.

PQ #47 – Screaming Daemons

Status – Bugged

So I’ve done this one before and when it bugged, I thought it was the same AOE-spawn bug as Cult of the Magus so I told everyone to try it again.  No dice.  The final boss spawns and is unattackable.  He follows people around and he summons stuff, but he’s never, ever targetable.

PQ #48 – Unlikely Allies

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Turcote, Popejoan, Aerikk, Amistex, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Skynetmage

I got this one confused with Eyes in the Dark and was telling people the wrong stuff.  lol.  Not my fault they put two skaven PQs so close to each other!

PQ #49 – The Sundered Fortress

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Popejoan, Aerikk, Amistex, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Skynetmage, Smothmit

Another one I’d done before, but it was much more fun with a large group.  Everyone was kill-happy and just slaughtering things all over even if it didn’t have to do with the PQ at this point. hehe.

PQ #50 – Gospodar Square

Status – Bugged

I have never, ever, seen this PQ work.  Ever.  Ever.

Ever.

PQ #51 – Broken Ground

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Popejoan, Aerikk, Johari, Etherial, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Smothmit, Zakur, Blooddrench

This PQ always slows people down.  First, things are so spread out and the area lacks any landmarks that really stand out to people so you can walk in the same circle over and over.  Then you get to the end and the boss is invisible.  If you don’t know where he is, you’re only chance is to luck upon the right area and do the right thing.  Good thing I had a kill-happy group with me that found him pretty fast.  hehe

PQ #52 – Eyes in the Dark

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Smothmit, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo

So finally I knew what I was talking about, only to find that it’s so easy now that it doesn’t matter.  Sigh.  You know what’s coming right?

Gaarawarr’s PQ Recommendation #4:  Make this one at least the Normal PQ.  Gospodar Square has never worked and is in the middle of an RvR lake, just make it the Easy one (and fix it of course) and then maybe people will go there to do it and some impromptu PvP might break out.  Worse things have happened.

PQ #53 – Beasts of War

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Dirshaun, Aleixa, Smothmit, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo

So during this one, I turned on the sound as someone said the effects were a little off.  Meh, I never play with the in-game sound on so would never have noticed, but they were right.  Stomped right on through this one.

PQ #54 – Hell’s Fall

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Merilla

So something happened here, obviously, but I have no clue what.  At this point I was getting so many /tells and answering so many questions in Region and Alliance that I had no situational awareness.

PQ #55 – Griffon’s Last Stand

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Calypso, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Merilla, Lionborn, Haylel

I remember this one though.  Holy cow.  So this one actually gives you options on how to complete all but the final stage and I chose to do the harder options and hunt down the named NPCs.  With a group this big, it just made sense.  Boy was it worth it.  This is the best PQ in Praag.  Solid fights in all stages and the boss, well, he is deserving of his title.  Check the screenie.

PQ #56 – Razing an Army

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Krazil, Kaidin, Brogard, Mursilus

Chaos Wastes!!!  Yaya!  With three tightly-packed PQs in a row, we were ready to rumble.  We razed this one fast…  c wut i did thar?

PQ #57 – Lost Artifacts

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Krazil, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Raithen

I’d done this one quite a few times with some friends trying to get some hybrid seeds so knew what was coming.  I tried to warn people, but then just chuckled as the healers finally had something to do.

PQ #58 – Dance of Bones

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Krazil, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe

By this time, the warband was getting full and it didn’t matter if the PQ was Easy, Normal or Hard.  We demolished this one as if it was an Easy.  I spent the entire time in Region and /tells letting people know where we were going next so they could join us soon.

PQ #59 – The Siren Sea

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Painjunkie, Eelya, Iburnyour, Volkjager

The masses spread out and toasted this one fast.  I remember running around trying to get a hit in here or there but finding things dead as I got there.  Which was fine, I balanced out the warband in preparation for it filling up completely in time for the next PQ.

PQ #60 – Madness

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Painjunkie, Eelya, Iburnyour, Volkjager, Gangee, Kayli

This.  PQ.  ROCKS!  I’m not ruining anything for anyone.  Go do it.  Now.  Right now.  However, it shouldn’t be a Normal…

Gaarawarr’s PQ Recommendation #5:  This should be the Hard PQ, not The Reaping Field.  That one just isn’t as epic a setting as this one.  I mean yeah, there’s all those bodies and stuff, but still.  This one is way better.

PQ #61 – The Reaping Field

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Amandon, Lionborn, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Painjunkie, Eelya, Iburnyour, Volkjager, Gangee, Kayli

See above.  I spent the entire time in this PQ talking in vent about how the last one is way more epic and how this one is just a pain with all the collision.  Would be an interesting battleground for PvP though, ducking and dodging around things.

PQ #62 – The Fall of Night

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Aleixa, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Lionborn, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Painjunkie, Eelya, Iburnyour, Volkjager, Gangee, Kayli, Bellisente

So while everyone was killing the stuff for Stage 1, I snuck over to where I knew Stage 2 would be and AOE’d them as they spawned, naked, to wake our healers up.  hehe.  I’m sneaky.

PQ #63 – Altar of Madness

Attendance – Gaarawarr, Aerikk, Johari, Modern, Baddreams, Slicesanddices, Zakur, Blooddrench, Wista, Forlo, Qronix, Lionborn, Kaidin, Brogard, Wuuu, Frostwolfe, Painjunkie, Eelya, Iburnyour, Volkjager, Gangee, Kayli, Bellisente, Woady

So this one slowed us down a bit as the respawn is horrid and the NPCs are spread all over, but the last stages went fast.  I was so excited at the end I forgot to take a screenshot.  I just charged off the altar, down the steps and into Ebon Keep…

Before the last PQ, here’s a video recap of the last few PQ Bosses.  Make sure to choose the HD option as it’s SO much better that way.

PQ #64 – Ebon Keep

Status – Bugged

Aaaaaaaaaaarrrrggggghhhhh!!!!!!!   Now I know how Charlie Brown felt every time he went to kick the football.  /facepalm  I’ve done this PQ before.  It’s EPIC and deserving of the final PQ in Empire, but this was just so anti-climactic.  We kind of moved around and talked about how it might be fixed and some people filed appeals under stuck, just to try to get a fast response.  We went outside and did the Altar again while waiting a couple times but no dice.  No CSR, no Ebon Keep.  I had been so upset, I forgot to get a screenie with the whole warband that charged in, but I did get these two which I liked a lot. (Inside)    (Outside)

I even went back later that night after a nice nap to see if the NPCs were there to complete Stage 1, but no dice.  I had people ready to come out and do it right away too.  Oh well.  Mythic, I’m waiting to do Ebon Keep still.

I’ll even put my clothes on if I have to.

So ultimately we hit Ebon Keep at 11 hours in.  I did almost the entire thing naked and I walked the whole trip, no mount.  I ended up with about 25 bags and I wasn’t even in first place for total bags for the run.  We couldn’t do a couple PQs as they were bugged but did a couple twice, so I figure that’s about how long it should have taken.  Probably add on another 10 minutes for EK and we’d have been done.  As it was, we hung out there for about an hour so 12 hours were spent doing the entire PQ Crawl by myself and Johari, who was a champion the whole time.  From being a bit tipsy at the start and getting chickened a LOT, to being our sole healer at one point to putting up with all the bugs and keeping my naked butt alive the whole day, they definitely deserve a reward and will be getting one in their in-game mail shortly.

Also, a big thanks to Quothe whose wife called him to bed in T4, sorry man, but thanks for the fire along the way!  To Kayli, who was chickened more than most in the beginning and who I think went and got a nap only to return for the end, thanks!   To Kaidin who was planning on doing the whole thing but forgot to take a nap the day before, dude, you better take your nap next time!  To Popejoan who caught up with us in T3 and did most of T4 before having to go, I’m sure Johari appreciated having a backup through there, I know I did. hehe.  And to all the non-T4 players that joined up with a crazy Dwarf on his EPIC PQ Crawl, much thanks.  I hope you all enjoyed it as much as I did and I look forward to seeing you all in T4.  Or at least at the next PQ Crawl!

For those who want to know, here’s the full list that I was able to get from the screenshots.  Of course, some may have been grouped but not there at that specific PQ but I counted them anyway as I didn’t have time to take notes as I went plus some may have been alongside us at each PQ but not in the group, especially when it was full at the end.  If you’re not listed but were there, sorry if I missed your name.  A tired dwarf can only do so much.  :p

  1. Gaarawarr – duh
  2. Quothe – the Burninator
  3. Kaidin – the Sleepy
  4. Kayli – the Chicken Champion
  5. Airknight – what a way to break in a new guildie, huh?
  6. Lightnin – the Sixth Man
  7. Johari – the Long Haul Healer
  8. Abduction
  9. Velia
  10. Gizy – dude, way to run off to IC…hehe
  11. Keldremar
  12. Barbedwire – I still think you could have made it to T3…
  13. Thangrutirkri
  14. Syder
  15. Petmykitten
  16. Memnarch
  17. Cococri
  18. Arvall
  19. Ithnol
  20. Brotherbandaid
  21. Creampuff – the AFK
  22. Suriyah
  23. Zeej
  24. Schorcher
  25. Aerikk
  26. Turcote – the Bag-Winner, seriously, this guy got hooked up
  27. Appalachian
  28. Etherial
  29. Blooddrench
  30. Wounding
  31. Popejoan – I knew you’d come back.  :p
  32. Galcian
  33. Modern – the Armored Tank, someone had to do it and it wasn’t gonna be me
  34. Vepils
  35. Zeein
  36. Baddreams
  37. Ganges
  38. Dirshaun
  39. Aleixa
  40. Calypso
  41. Thaeric
  42. Skynetmage – has become self-aware….I don’t remember who said it in vent, but I almost spit my Dr. Pepper all over my monitor
  43. Slicesanddices
  44. Amistex
  45. Smothmit
  46. Wista
  47. Zakur
  48. Forlo
  49. Qronix
  50. Amandon
  51. Merilla
  52. Lionborn – the Videographer
  53. Haylel
  54. Krazil
  55. Brogard
  56. Mursilus
  57. Wuuu
  58. Gangee
  59. Eelya
  60. Frostwolf
  61. Painjunkie
  62. Iburnyour
  63. Volkjager
  64. Woady – at least I think it was Woady, I added someone at the end and missed the last PQ screenie but I swear it was either him or Gizy.  Give me a break, I had just done PQs for 12 hours.

So at some point, PQ Crawls #2 and 3 will happen in Elf and Dwarf.  Hopefully we’ll get a full run in with no bugs, but I’m not gonna hold my breath.  For those that want to attend, keep an eye on both the WHA and Official Forums in the Iron Rock Server Forum as I’ll announce it roughly a week in advance.  I’ll most likely change the start time a bit since I know it can be done in under 12 hours with a good turnout.

Anyway, Gaarawarr’s EPIC PQ Crawl #1 was a huge success despite the bugged PQs.  I had a blast, met TONS of cool people and Johari and I can say we’ve done something no one else has so far in this game.  Hopefully they’ll be there for the next two as well.  My naked butt needs heals!!!

~Gaar

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 9:35 am

    #32 Echoes of War does leave stage one, just the mobs are bastards to try and find, and you have to clear the field all at one time. Stage two is a few waves of mobs that you have to survive and kill fast enough to keep them out of the middle, and Stage three is the meeting of two armies, you choose a side and kill their champs.

    As for all the rest. FREAKING AWESOME EPIC-NESS!

    A little confused on your choice for the music during the video, but meh. Rock on! I hope someone takes your notes and seriously goes back to work on those PQ’s that are bugged. I know quite a few of em are screwy. EK is really disappointing. Everytime I go there, the first two NPCs are available, but the other two are stuck in walls, above or below, on just non-existant.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      April 13, 2009 5:05 pm

      Yeah, I’ve done Echoes of War before and know how it’s supposed to work. The problem lies in that not all the spirits are spawned at one time. The “countdown” was already in progress and once we killed all there, nothing happened. This is definitely bugged as PQs shouldn’t have to reset Stage 1 to be completed, but oh well.

      As to EK, it’s the first time I’ve ever been there and had it be bugged in any way.

      For the music, well, it wasn’t me. hehe. That’s all Redztk.

  2. April 13, 2009 9:43 am

    Sounds awesome. Thanks for the epic recap.

    I’d totally roll up an order toon to participate in one of these.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      April 13, 2009 5:07 pm

      For all I know, some of the people we picked up in T1 may have done just that. hehe

  3. gijeremy99 permalink
    April 13, 2009 11:56 am

    Nice, I’m gonna try this out with my guild/alliance and see if we can get some love…

    • gaarawarr permalink
      April 13, 2009 5:07 pm

      I actually only had a couple guildies with us at different points, the rest were friends from other guilds/alliances and people we picked up along the way. Made it so much fun meeting new people and sharing the game with them.

  4. theerivs permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:38 am

    I would try to pull this off on Destro side, but were just all sitting around IC, eating potato chips waiting for 1.2.1

  5. Castamere permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:12 am

    There’s a soft, mushy part of my heart (that I need to have checked out) for PQ’s. Used to be able to do a fair number of the Normals with my wife’s Zealot and my Black Orc. But those days are over and our duos are not optimal enough to do that sorta thing. It’s hard to drum up support for a PQ run and so I often leave many a PQ lingering at Stage 2, unfinished.

    An absolutely splendid write-up. I look forward to future installments with the other racial tiers!

  6. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 3:59 pm

    Ah Gaarawarr, I be lovin’ your guides mate ! Who’s the jerk you mentioned in the post before this one ? (It’s 2am and I can’t read well). I tried searching “jerk”, “mean”, and “ass” (you don’t wanna know what came up : assaulted, High Pass and somefin’ else..), with no results. Maybe I should try and read it agai…zZzZzZz.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      April 21, 2009 5:35 pm

      Just this random guy we ran across. I’ll remember him when, or if, he ever gets to T4 and then he’ll find out Karma is a b#@$h… hehe

Trackbacks

  1. WCPI - Knights of the Feathered Hats « Gaarawarr Gabs
  2. wcpi #8 (omg we missed it again) « breakfast at war
  3. /AFK - April 19 « Bio Break
  4. Catching up « Book of Grudges
  5. Tome of Knowledge : a Warhammer Online blog » WCPI Promotion : Week 10
  6. A quick update for those who are confused - And WCPI ! « Spank the Tank
  7. Gaarawarr’s EPIC PQ Crawl #4 – Dwarf Ch 1 thru Ch 22 « Gaarawarr Gabs

Leave a Reply

