Skip to content

Guide to the Exposed Reliquaries

January 27, 2010

During one of the Live Events leading up to the release of the Land of the Dead, hidden Reliquaries were introduced that could only be discovered by wearing Aviator Goggles.  These Reliquaries contained Scarabs, which were our first look at the new currency system being introduced with the new zone.

After the Land of the Dead was opened, the Goggles became only useful in finding hidden treasure inside the Tomb of the Vulture Lord.  However, Reliquaries and their treasures remained but in a different form.

The Exposed Reliquaries that can be found in the Land of the Dead don’t need goggles to be found and do still contain Scarabs, however they also can contain much more desirable treasures as well.

Feel like doing some treasure hunting?  Read on!

~Gaar

Exposed Reliquaries

After countless years beneath the sands, the lost treasure in this Reliquary is now yours for the taking.

General Information

There are a total of twenty Reliquaries that have been found in the Land of the Dead: ten residing on the Order side of the river and ten on the Destruction side.

Only one Reliquary is in the world at any given time.  Once it is opened, it will then disappear and a new one will appear in a different location.  The new Reliquary will always be on the opposite side of the river from the one you just opened.

All twenty locations are fixed spawn points.  There is no apparent pattern to their spawn.  (Based on 1 specific location only spawning for me two times in ~75 pulls.)

The Treasure

Not everything you get from the Reliquaries is amazing, but sometimes you hit the jackpot.

Common

Silver Scarabs – out of ~75 pulls, I ended up with over 50 of these.

Uncommon

Gold Scarabs – ended up with 5 of these.

Fleshrender of Settra (Trophy) – ended up with 6 of these

Khalida’s Medicinal Satchel (Trophy) – ended up with 6 of these

Ritual Blade of Styx (trophy) – Never got one during my tests, but guildie has 3

Rare

Various Souls – ended up with 3 of these

Very Rare

Funerary Shroud of Khutep (Back) – ended up with 1 of these

Funerary Shroud of Khalida (Back) – Never got one during my tests

Funerary Shroud of Settra (Back) – Never got one during my tests

It seems the inventory icons for Khalida and Settra are swapped right now, so go by the name for what it looks like, not the icon.  The icon for Khutep is correct though.

Locations

I’m going to do this in two ways.  One is a map showing the general areas as that is enough for some people.  For people like me, I’ll list the exact coordinates.  Once you’ve made the rounds a few times and seen each one spawn, they’ll be unnecessary as you’ll have their locations memorized and will easily be able to recognize them from a distance.

The Map

Order

20120, 56671

7013, 51959

6829, 32652

12706, 57628

16953, 35742

17145, 43277

27578, 39338

23629, 50639

12015, 51055

29214, 59518

Destruction

33240, 7169

22297, 22944

15924, 4964

6164, 21400

30623, 949

33956, 22661

25056, 8274

19372, 12973

30049, 14198

14727, 19967

Don’t forget, once you grab one on one side of the river, the next will be on the other side.

Hopefully, you’ll see many of these soon.

Happy Hunting!

~Gaar

36 Comments leave one →
  1. zizlak permalink
    January 28, 2010 5:23 am

    Thanks..
    I totally forgot about those reliquaries. Will check them out.

  2. Artiee permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:07 pm

    Have you found anything in the tomb? I ran the tomb between the Scorpion bosses and the front and saw nothing.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      January 28, 2010 10:16 pm

      The goggles make extra treasure appear in the second boss room.

    • January 29, 2010 10:32 am

      Oh… that explains the few extra treasures when I was running thou the tomb. Last time I put up 18 treasures but nothing changed on the boss kill..

  3. Lunarstrike permalink
    January 29, 2010 4:44 am

    Thank you so much for the info. If it wasn’t for your write up I wouldn’t have been able to get my hands on the Funerary Shroud of Settra today.

    6 hours of work and your map. Didn’t even know about these before yesterday.

    -Lunarstrike SM, Badlands

    • gaarawarr permalink
      January 29, 2010 2:57 pm

      Awesome man, great luck!

  4. Manyx permalink
    January 29, 2010 12:16 pm

    I’ve opened over 90 reliquaries now, most findings beings the scarabs. I’ve found one soul, and no cloaks yet.

    The most frustrating part is running to the other side and after passing all known spawn locations, realizing someone already cracked it open and it’s now on the other side.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      January 29, 2010 2:58 pm

      Agreed. I have a way around that, but it’s a secret. 😉

    • Rienuaa permalink
      March 26, 2010 5:46 pm

      Do, tell. NOW!

  5. Veppe permalink
    January 31, 2010 1:20 pm

    Opened about 150 of them before i got the shroud of khutep, then in the next i opened i got the kalida(whitch i gave to a friend) Best about it that i can put the regular lotd souls in the slots (37 str, 75-85 melepow, 3-4 %bock etc). Not the 5 mele crit, 5% reduced crit, 12% chans to be undefendable for 12sec etc.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      February 1, 2010 3:35 pm

      Bah! I didn’t test that as I figured they wouldn’t take souls since they weren’t labeled soul vessels. I will do so today to double-check. Thanks!

  6. Kazen permalink
    February 2, 2010 8:13 am

    cool guide! those capes are really awsome! me and a guildy of mine duo this thing hes on the destro side and im on the order side and it became significantly faster. we opened a ton of them but no luck on any capes, just sucks… also if i remember correctly there should be another trophy that looks like a knife.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      February 2, 2010 3:27 pm

      Yeah, my guildie got it the other day so I’ll update with pics soon.

      Edit: Updated.

  7. Dalor permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:30 am

    Wasted 2 weeks trying to get a cloak. Never again, unless we bring 20 people to stand on each of the spawns.

  8. Skarim/Corm permalink
    February 4, 2010 4:22 pm

    And one of them, the one I have, doesnt take souls. Ill post the name and stats later.

  9. Skarim/Corm permalink
    February 4, 2010 4:57 pm

    My bad never noticed the text under it was too busy drooling at that picture!

  10. Snake permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:28 am

    i just found Funerary Shroud of Khalida cannot be used lotd Soul… but Khutep can use it..

    so i would like to know if Funerary Shroud of Settra can use the lotd soul.
    can any one try it?

  11. gaarawarr permalink
    March 9, 2010 7:10 am

    Updated with pics of the final two Shrouds and their stats. 🙂

  12. Skaeljorn permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:05 pm

    Anyone know if the tooltip on Khalida shroud is bugged? I’ve just gotten one, and not equipping it until I know.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 12, 2010 7:46 pm

      The stats are right as is the ability, the picture is wrong as I noted.

    • Skaeljorn permalink
      March 14, 2010 11:49 am

      Then I feel perversely glad I decided to be charitable to my guildie who desperately wanted a cloak.

    • Raggnarok permalink
      March 28, 2010 6:59 am

      I picked up Khalida yesterday (3/27/2010). The tooltip is “bugged”. The effect lasts for 20 seconds, deals 112 back to the attacker, but it absorbs up to 265 damage (not 47). The effect is cancelled after 265 damage is absorbed. I am curious to test this with Gromril Plating -> Pop this morale ability off first, then the cloak’s ability… would I have 7465 damage absorb for 20 seconds wih 112 outgoing damage to each attacker!?

      The cooldown on the effect is 6 minutes. Is this the same for the other 2 cloaks? I can also confirm that you cannot socket LOTD talismans.

      Gaarawarr, thanks for your contributions to this game.

      Raggnarok – IB on IR.

  13. Grombrindal permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:23 am

    “Agreed. I have a way around that, but it’s a secret.”

    come on… tell us 😀

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 29, 2010 3:32 pm

      What part of “secret” didn’t you understand? hehe. Besides, it’s not so much a secret as a strategy. Think about it and you’ll get it.

    • Thaded permalink
      April 15, 2010 11:08 am

      like getting a partner?

  14. Chris permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:47 pm

    Thanks for the Info! Only took about 20 tries to find the shroud of khalida! this would not have been possible without you^^

    greetings from corroburg, germany

    • gaarawarr permalink
      April 15, 2010 1:27 pm

      Glad I could help!

  15. abra permalink
    April 18, 2010 12:29 pm

    my guild mate found the first back with 1700 try

  16. Godly permalink
    August 25, 2010 9:49 am

    Hey Gara- are the reliquaries still around after 1.3.6? I have not found one since the update. Maybe I am just having bad luck and someone else is farming at the same time but i’ve been looking for them when the server is most dead. It’s about a year later let us know your work around! 🙂

    • August 25, 2010 6:08 pm

      Hmm…haven’t checked since the Patch but I’ll keep my eyes open.

      As for the secret, it’s nothing major like people blew it into. lol. Just get the same number of people as there are Reliquaries in one warband and have one person at each spot. Insta-pop/open farming. You just have to coordinate loot distribution as some pop way more frequently than others. Crowd-sourcing ftw!

  17. Godly permalink
    August 25, 2010 8:04 pm

    Lol… Ok, already figured as much since I don’t have a warband at my disposal what I’ve done in the past is have a character logged in on each side of the river. Kinda saves me some time. I spent about 3hrs roaming around today and did not find one reliquary. :/

    • August 25, 2010 8:40 pm

      Ask around. I don’t have warbands at my disposal either, but there’s usually a lot of people willing to do this if it’s organized and they’re guaranteed some decent loot which this way pretty much does.

  18. Lothenlos permalink
    January 13, 2011 9:17 am

    Thanks a lot mate. I wasn’t even aware of these but I’m going to have fun finding them with your guide. Cheers 😀

  19. Laseryoda permalink
    June 27, 2011 10:05 pm

    Are you sure that there’s a reliquary at the very top right corner? I’ve been farming reliquaries for a while now and there have never been a reliquary there.. Anyways, thanks for the guide, helped me alot!

    • June 28, 2011 11:46 pm

      Positive. However, all reliquaries pop randomly. You’re guaranteed it will pop on one side, then the other, but locations are completely random and thus can run streaks of never seeing them at all. The reason I know for a fact it’s there is that I created this guide on the PTS with no one on it and ran about 200+ pulls. A couple locations literally only popped 2-3 times after that many pulls.

    • Laseryoda permalink
      June 30, 2011 12:31 pm

      Yep, 10 minutes after I made my post I found a reliquary there :).
      Anyways, thanks to your guide and some persistance from my side I finally found a Settra shroud.. yaay.

Leave a comment