Skip to content

One of those “Anniversary” post thingies

January 28, 2011

Welcome to 2011 everyone.

If you’re like me, you’re still wondering what the hell happened to 2010… But anyway, I figured I’d give everyone a heads up on what’s on my To-Do list for the upcoming year.

Additionally, this post happens to fall on the two year anniversary for this blog.

It’s like a two-fer!

So, read on for an update on where the blog is and where it’s going in the future.

Or don’t and be surprised.  It’s your call.

~Gaar

At the end of last year I was working on a couple of projects.  One was the complete re-do of the original Armor Guide I made back when I started this blog.  The other was the Destruction version of the Land of the Dead Epic Quest guide.  And finally, I was working on a community-assisted guide to the new RR 95+ quest.  None of them were very small projects, obviously, so they’re not quite done yet.  And of course, there’s about two dozen items just sitting on a list for possible additions/updates to the guide page.

Good times.

Before we get more into what’s in store for the future, I’d be remiss in my interwebz duties if I didn’t give out the obligatory stat-check for those that care about such things.  So away we go…

  • First Post:  The Deductive Dialectic – January 28th, 2009
  • 100,000th View – July 3rd, 2009
  • 100th Post – December 2nd, 2009
  • 500,000th View – May 31st, 2010
  • 775,000th View – January 27th, 2011

I really snuck that last one in under the wire huh?  :p

  • Total Posts – 183
  • Total Views – 775,276
  • Comments – 1,972
  • Spam Comments Deleted – 20,094

And some randomness just cuz I’m random…

  • Most Used Search Engine Term to find GG – Gaarawarr Gabs…hey, bookmark it already!
  • Site with the most Referrals from GG – Curse.com, specifically the Crafting Info Tooltip download page.  Still the best addon for crafting in WAR.
  • Site that sends the most Referrals to GG – WHAlliance is still holding strong in the top spot there, even after all this time.  I blame Charlotte…  😉
  • Busiest Day – 10,962 on February 3rd, 2010
  • Busiest Month – 63,388 in February of 2010

There, that should appease the people that are into those stat-like thingies.  Now back to the future!… hrm…

Going forward, my To-Do list in terms of WAR is made up of the following:

  1. Armor Guide Revamp – Check this post for a sneak peak of what it will look like when finished.
  2. Weekend Warfront Posts Revamp – Instead of putting a new one up every time, I’m making a dedicated post for each Scenario and notating dates/rulesets as appropriate.
  3. Creating new Live Event Guides.
  4. Destruction version of the Land of the Dead Epic Quest Guide – Here’s the Order version.  The Destruction version is a bit different, but follows the same type of progression.
  5. Community-assisted guide to the RR95+ Epic Quest added with the RvR Packs – This will take some work, obviously, and its completion will depend on all of you!

These things will all show up as I get the time to finish them with the Weekend Warfront Post adjustments being made as each Scenario rotates through most likely and the Live Event Guides going up as they make their return to WAR.  Ideally, the Armor Guide will be completely finished before its own anniversary.  That’s my goal anyways.  We all know how those go.  :p  The rest will get done as I get help to finish them.  I’ve also had some good suggestions for guides given to me via comments on this site as well as e-mailed to me (gaarawarrgabs@gmail.com) and I’ll be looking at how viable those are to do soon as well.

To be honest, I’d probably have some of that finished by now if I hadn’t been distracted by Steam’s holiday game sales.  hehe.  I ended up with eight new single-player games of which I’ve finished four so far.  Which, incidentally, inspired me to start a new post series for the blog where I can talk about said games once I’m done with them.  I’ve obviously got a handful that will be finished fairly soon, but after that they’ll most likely be rather irregular.  So, if you’re interested in that type of thing, keep your eyes open for posts on Plants vs. Zombies, The Witcher, Mass Effect 1 & 2, and Back to the Future: The Game – Episode 1.

So…yeah…that’s about if or now…  Batman: Arkham Asylum is staring at me and taunting me…  We can’t have that, now can we?

Have fun!

~Gaar

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 8:36 am

    Congratulations on two years!

  2. January 28, 2011 8:45 pm

    10,962 views on one day?

    I’m lucky if I get 100 in a single day.

    Hahaha, grats on 2 years Gaar!!

    Hopefully we’ll see you for another 2 years at least.

    (On a side note 10,962 is 57 off from total blog views I have)

    • January 29, 2011 2:30 am

      Everyone has to start somewhere. I never expected as many people to visit here as have. Regardless of the number of views, if you enjoy what you do, that’s enough to keep doing it.

  3. Kelembribor permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:43 pm

    Congratulations on two years!
    I have a need to give thanks to You for live event guides , they really helped in getting some items .
    I admire your commitment to building all these guides (if only developers could be so) , especially looking forward to revamped Armour guide – really like art in this game.

    • January 29, 2011 2:33 am

      I’m glad you find my efforts useful as that’s what they’re there for. As for developers’ commitment, some of my guides wouldn’t exist if Mythic wasn’t committed to its player-base. For example, my biggest day mentioned above was the direct result of Andy taking the time one night to create every one of the weapons that went into that post and letting me take screenshots of them.

      Despite what people think at times, Mythic and their Community Team have always been committed to their player-base.

  4. Rainbowcookie permalink
    January 31, 2011 4:15 am

    congratulations on 2 years anniversary and to how popular your blog is!

    It is not so strange that you have so many visistors. Warhammeronline never releases any news or feedback and the info they release is very cheap!
    If you visist the forums there are to much whine and rage.
    You have the best, most informative and easiest to read info for warhammer online on the web. And it is at the same time a written from a players point of view!
    Keep it up and continue to release intervjues xD

Leave a Reply

