Skip to content

And the winners are…

June 10, 2010

So, entries closed last night for both the first and last contests that I ran for the 500k Celebration.

I would like to thank everyone that stopped by during the Celebration, and of course, since I started my blog.  :p

WAR‘s online community has had its ups and downs the last few years, but I truly feel it has a very solid, tight-knit foundation right now and that will only make things that much more enjoyable for everyone as all the new players are hitting the game and looking for info on WAR online.

So, to all of you that support the online community, be it via a blog, encouraging and supporting bloggers, or simply answering questions on forums when players ask, Thank You.  You are what make the WAR community great and it is a pleasure to play the game with you all.

Now, on to the answers to the questions in my last contest, the announcing of the winners for both, and for those that are into info/stats, a quick peak at what mine look like after 500k views.

Enjoy!

~Gaar

First off, the exciting stuff!  Here’s the questions and answers to my last contest:

  1. What aspect of WAR does Grimnir do a lot of video guides for?  Addons! Grimnir does a lot of great video addon guides.  I’m still amazed he has as many addons as he does.  lol
  2. Mykiel thinks there’s a method to the madness of the Red Plague.  What does he think is coming?  Skaven! He’s not exactly sure how they’ll be implemented, but he can’t dismiss the signs.
  3. Werit does a weekly compilation of WAR information.  What is it called?  News from the Front!  Every Friday, Werit posts what’s happening on the internet with WAR, from blogs to videos.  Check it out!
  4. Who did Bootae play in the Kill Frenzy Suckas video?  Delicious Styles!  Easily one of the funniest WAR videos I’ve seen to date.  Go watch it!
  5. Who is the Skaven fighting in Forjador‘s Red Plague sketch?  A Wood Elf Wardancer! Forjador’s artwork always amazes me.  We need more WAR artists using blogs to present their work.
  6. Where did Charlotte get the name for her Witch Elf?  Satsuma Shampoo from The Body Shop! Mine was from the Wookiee Name Generator in Star Wars Galaxies.  Don’t I feel boring now?
  7. Which Weekend Warfront does Arisechicken think is the best ever?  Khaine’s Embrace! Good to know I’m not the only one that sees images in the Scenario Maps…
  8. What was Mr. Meh‘s second Loading Screen Tooltip about?  Nagarythe and the Black Arks! I would love to see more lore-based loading screens as well as gameplay tips.  They just make the game more immersive.
  9. What was the name of the room Mythic locked us up in during the Blaaagher Invasion? ~evil raspy voice~  The Pit of Despair!  Don’t even think… ~coughs and clears throat, then talks normally~ Don’t even think about trying to escape.
  10. What’s the coolest color to dye your armor, ever?  You know what they say, Slaanesh Pink is the new Chaos Black.

As luck would have it, five people got all ten answers correct so that made it easy on me.  hehe.  I’ll be letting everyone know if they won/lost via email as I don’t want to out people’s IRL names.  🙂  So check your inboxes if you entered the contest as I’ll be sending out notifications tonight as well.

As for the first contest, I left open the entries until yesterday as well.  I felt a little too connected to the blogs that were submitted since I read them all, so the winner was selected via a blend of consultation of the WAR gods via Tier 1 chicken sacrifices and input from a panel of completely partial players that didn’t include me.  😉  The winning blog is:

  • I ❤ Gorfang

Drokarn from Iron Rock submitted the blog, so they both get a prize!  Here’s what they won:

Blogger Prize

WAR Messenger Bag!

All the cool bloggers have one!  OK, maybe not all of them, but hey.  hehe.  I’ve been using mine for almost a year now and love it.  :p

Blog Reader’s Prize

I ❤ WAR Blogs T-Shirt!

What better prize than a truly limited edition shirt?  hehe.  As far as I know, there aren’t more than a handful of these in existence…yet.  ~steeplefingers~  Muahahahahaha!

I’ll be attempting to contact both of them tonight as well to get their prizes to them.

Congratulations to all the winners from all three contests!

Now, for those of you who are into stats, here’s a random rundown of what mine look like after hitting 500k views:

  • Views as of this post – 514,925
  • Busiest Day – 10,962 on 2/3/10 (I did it Grimnir!  rofl)
  • Busiest Week – 25,247 in May of 2010
  • Busiest Month – 63,388 in February of 2010
  • Comments – 1,437
  • Spam Comments – 3,246
  • Most used search engine term to find GG – Gaarawarr Gabs (Imagine that!)
  • Blog with most referrals from GG – P-O-D-C-A-S-T (You’re welcome Mykiel, hehe.)
  • Site that sends the most referrals to GG – Warhammer Alliance (Although the Official Forums are creaping up on them…)

So, that’s it for the Celebration.  Until next time…

Have fun!

~Gaar

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 8:56 pm

    Limited edition I ❤ WAR Blogs T-Shirt, Only worn once… proof in the video.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 10, 2010 11:31 pm

      haha, nah, this is a new one. I swear! I kept mine. It has the nametag on it still. :p

  2. Havus permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:57 am

    Those are some great links in the post. The video of Kill Frenzy had my sides hurting…it was like watching a real movie at times.

  3. June 11, 2010 9:02 am

    I knew I was missing something. A messenger bag.

    No more entries till I have one. 🙂

  4. Drokarn permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:04 am

    AWESOME!!! Don’t think I’ve ever won anything in a contest before. Let me know when you need my information to send the bag.
    Thanks again!

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 15, 2010 9:06 am

      Well, you won the Shirt, not the Bag, but I’m e-mailing you right now. hehe

Leave a Reply

