Skip to content

Weekend Warfront: Battle at the Cairn

June 4, 2010

~peruses the Task List for this weekend’s Warfront~

…oh my…could it be true?…it might be…

This weekend in Blood of the Black Cairn, they may have just created a viable Task List!

Enjoy!

~Gaar

The isle of Ulthuan is all too familiar with the bitter tale of brother turning against brother.  In places the rage and hatred of familial betrayal have seeped into the land, turning the sites of ancient struggles into magical wellsprings of dark power.  Now a new battle erupts as Order and Destruction forces vie for control of the Blackcairn Estate.

Battle at the Cairn – Weekend Warfront (June 4th – 7th, 2010)

The Blood of the Black Cairn scenario is open again for characters of all levels!  Hold as many objectives as you can while continuing to advance.  Charge forth, defeat your enemies and earn a decisive victory at the site of the Blackcairn family’s historic shame.

  • Basic Reward – Level-appropriate Healing potion

  • Advanced Reward – Level-appropriate Molotov potion

  • Elite Reward – Vanquisher’s Boon – Buff that awards extra Emblems from Scenarios based on the score.

The Live Event Herald for Order is named Kadius Kridt and is located at (26776, 30868) by the Flight Master in Altdorf.  The Live Event Herald for Destruction is named Kralf Hexenkrieger and is located at (29455, 32368) by the Flight Master in the Inevitable City.

General Information

Battle at the Cairn started on June 4th and will continue through June 7th.  The task list is the same regardless of Tier/Realm.

There is a bonus to Experience and Renown while in this Scenario, making it the place to be this weekend!

Note: I have pulled some amazing renown gains out of the Weekend Warfront scenarios (ie: well over 10k for multiple scenarios), so it’s definitely worth it to queue for this scenario simply for that 10% bonus.

Such a fabulous map and so horribly played by most people.  lol.  Lots of room for solo and small-group maneuvering here, however keep in mind the objective is to capture or steal points and ultimately you’ll have to duke it out 12 v 12 at that middle point to dominate.  However, if you’re pushed back to your spawn, don’t be afraid to send someone to the far objective to ninja it and reset the objectives!

Weekend Event Tasks

  • Win a Blood of the Black Cairn scenario with 500 points
  • Defeat or help defeat 500 enemy realm players
  • Control all five objectives when the Blood of the Black Cairn scenario ends
  • Complete all Battle at the Cairn tasks

Well, it took them a while, but they finally came up with a Task List that relies on skill and teamwork as opposed to repetition.  I like that it has a decent level of difficulty associated with it as well.

If they had fixed the reward system prior to this one going Live, I’d be declaring this a perfect success already.  Sadly, the rewards are still junk so they get an A-.

Hopefully they’ll get on that for the next one.  I look forward to the day when we can do these and be a little excited every time we complete a Task.  Currently, most just don’t care until they get the final one.  Even then, I never turn them in, I just take my title and go home.  hehe.  Speaking of…

Title:  Cairnmaster

Have fun!

~Gaar

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Gelal permalink
    June 4, 2010 2:04 pm

    Well, I know what I am doing when I am done with work 😛

  2. June 4, 2010 3:05 pm

    This one does appear challenging.

    I’m trying to figure the math on how many I need to run for 500 kills. I wonder if the “help defeat” means if you at least damage an opponent you get credit? With past events you needed to get in one of the first few hits to get credit. 500 could be pretty steep if it’s that way.

    Being conservative … 10 kills/scenario the old way = 50 scenarios!

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 4, 2010 3:35 pm

      If you only get 10 kills a scenario, I’m assuming you got rolled. The scenario I was in earlier we lost pretty badly, but I managed to put 10 kills on the scoreboard of which I got credit for 9 on the event list.

      The key here is a good scenario might net you 50-75 kills which dramatically reduces the number of times you have to do the scenario and truly makes the tasks based on skill/teamwork/effort/participation and not just rote repetition.

    • June 4, 2010 5:08 pm

      I was being conservative on the number of kills. I pug these weekend events so can’t always count on heals, coordination, or backups. The holding all 5 points could be really tough unless your team is doing the stomping.

    • June 4, 2010 3:59 pm

      If the kill credit is just like the RvR Camp one and the Black Fire Basin event, Then its group based. (I have no idea how the Keep kills work.)

  3. June 4, 2010 6:58 pm

    “Control all five objectives when the Blood of the Black Cairn scenario ends” May be broken.. I won one with all 5 capped and I didnt get credit.

    • Grudnir permalink
      June 7, 2010 9:56 am

      What he said… Doesn’t registering for me aswell

    • June 7, 2010 2:39 pm

      I finally got credit for this.. but I have to tell you that this task was one of the hardest to get.. All one solo player had to do was to sneak away and nullify one of the back BO’s to reset the forward and center bo’s.. I stopped Destro a few times from getting this task completed within the last 60 pts.

      Sometimes I wonder if Mythic even plays to try and get the task credit before launching it.

      On a side note. The 500 kills could be from any fight. oRvR, Other Sc and the City.

  4. June 6, 2010 7:47 pm

    I wasn’t sure how I should feel about this weekend’s Warfront. I’ve never played the Blood Cairn scenario before and at first it reminded me of Battle for Praag. But, on playing through it a couple time on my AM, I really enjoy the tug-o-war affect it has. It really puts your team/pug on a reaction based approach to the fight, which makes for really fun and unpredictable fights. 🙂

    Overall, I look forward to playing this one again!

Trackbacks

  1. Stupid Reunion « Shadow-war
  2. 500k Celebration Week Posts and Contests! « Gaarawarr Gabs
  3. Weekend Warfront: Battle at the Cairn « Cosas del WAR
  4. Weekend Warfront: Bane of Peace « Cosas del WAR

Leave a Reply

