Skip to content

WCPI – Moar Cowbell!!!

July 29, 2009

OK, I admit it.  I’ve sucked at my WCPI promotions the last few months.  I can produce a whole huge list of excuses like:  I’m on Tour, I’ve been busy transcribing my interviews with Mythic, I’ve been writing guides instead, etc…  However, I think that what it really boils down to is that I just haven’t read anything lately that really made me stand up and go “Hell yeah!  I’m totally with you on that!” or “WTH?!?!  Pull your head out of your…”  Yeah, you get the idea.  Mainly it’s because WAR-blogging has been in a bit of a holding pattern lately as opposed to the all-out flood of information we’ve seen at times in the past.

However, that changed today.  I finally finished up Part 2 of my interview with Josh Drescher and decided to take a break by going through my blogroll and reading up on WAR.  What I found made me a happy Dwarf.

So without further ado, here is my newest WCPI promotion…now with moar cowbell!

Enjoy!

~Gaar

OK, so right off the bat, let me explain the cowbell references.  I wandered over to Grimnir’s Grudge and as I was catching up on their posts, I got smacked full in the face by Christopher Walken’s picture in Grimnir’s Needs More Cowbell post.  I’m a huge CW fan so I immediately started chuckling.  Then I actually read the post and found that it was very deserving of having CW grace its page.  Grimnir pretty much summed up my thoughts on the most recent patch and the way people are reacting to it to the point where I’m totally not going to bother doing the post I had in mind now.  I’m actually really bummed now that I didn’t get to meet up with Grimnir on my Tour, but I may be up their way again soon so will make a much better attempt this time to make that happen.

Second, congrats to Stunty Stomper on hitting 200,000 visitors!  I recently hit 100,000 myself and know how crazy it can be when you hit milestones like that that you totally did not ever expect to see.  I’m a huge fan of the layout of Thulf’s site and all the fun, orcy artwork they use.  If only I were more artistically inclined…  hehe.

Finally, while not technically part of the WCPI, I have to give a shout-out to both (un)Enlightened English and its new sister-site (un)Enlightened Philosophy.  As someone who spends a lot of time lately writing things, I love reading up on the posts on uEE and as someone who was a Philosophy minor in college (I really should have double-majored) I am extremely excited about reading what is to come on uEP.  Check them out if that’s your thing!

On a related blogroll note, I find I really need to figure out a way to clean up my blogroll and trim “inactive” blogs.  But how do you define inactive?  Bleh.  I’m thinking if someone hasn’t posted in a month, that should define them as inactive.  But is that valid?  Sigh.  I’ll make a decision soon I guess.  For now, go browse to your heart’s content as a lot of them will be gone soon sadly.

Until next time…

Have fun!

~Gaar

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    July 29, 2009 4:56 pm

    Aww! Thanks so much for the heads up! It’s been awhile since I’ve retired from WA, and it’s nice to see that members of the WAR community can still benefit from my hard work. 😀 Thanks for the promotion!

  2. July 29, 2009 8:42 pm

    Hey now, I’m in the WCPI QQ put me in the right section.

    Besides that though, I think the fantastic articles you have done gives you a bit of leeway in regards to WCPIs. Has anyone called you out on it, because to me its obvious that you care about it since you’re always apologizing for not doing enough.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      July 29, 2009 9:22 pm

      Fixed. bleh, that’s another thing I get behind on. Keeping the current WCPI list correct. Although I do tend to only keep the current WAR WCPI blogs in it and put non-WAR WCPI blogs in the regular blogroll.

      As to being called out, no. As a matter of fact, the general WCPI stuff that was supposed to all be going on seems to not be going on in general. However, I still feel bad about not doing more promotions, it’s just hard to when a lot of people’s blogs are quiet lately.

    • July 29, 2009 9:47 pm

      You seen my blog lately? /wink Plenty active. WAR of Alts, Bootae, Shadow WAR, Warhammer Blog Times, and a few others have remained fairly active too.

      We just don’t get to meet Mythic employee’s XD

    • gaarawarr permalink
      July 30, 2009 8:53 am

      That’s just it, I haven’t had time to read a lot of blogs lately. I’m going to try to catch up though. I use that as my breaks from typing. hehe

  3. July 30, 2009 8:29 am

    oy! I says oy! WAAAGHRoots is active as well. We aint hold’n for nothing! All our WAR I says!

    And I even got to meet Mythic Employees at Games Day Chicago 😛

  4. July 30, 2009 8:35 am

    Oh… and I forgot to mention something about transcribing: My heart is with you sir. For my Master’s Thesis I transcribed over 20 hours of interviews for a qualitative analysis. And we weren’t talking about fun stuff either 😛 Not sure what program you are using, but I used the free-ware Express Scribe

    http://www.nch.com.au/scribe/

    It was a life saver.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      July 30, 2009 8:51 am

      Time to point and laugh at Gaar… I’ve just been using Windows Media Player…

      That program looks awesome though. I still have at least 4 more interviews to review so I may go try it out.

  5. July 30, 2009 3:13 pm

    Ouch man… ouch. I transcribed at 60-70% speed depending on the person’s voice/speed of talking… The hot-keys are very very important for stop/playback… I can’t stress that enough 😛 Good luck with the rest of your transcriptions man.

Leave a Reply

