Skip to content

A Humble Thank You

July 3, 2009

To all those that have visited my little corner of the interwebz in the last five months, I humbly thank you.

No, I’m not closing down my blog or changing its focus, I’m merely commemorating what for me is another milestone.

Today, Gaarawarr Gabs had its 100,000th view.  To be quite frank, that blows my mind.

When I made my introductory post on January 28th, 2009, nowhere in the wildest corners of my imagination did I ever think the site would have as many visitors as it has had over the last few months.  I figured February’s numbers would be more accurate for monthly visits, 315 if you’re curious.  10 a day seemed good for a site that was built around the much-maligned “walls o’ text” that people ignore on forums.

I guess I should have seen what was to come back in March when I made my first milestone post.  I didn’t though.  I thought it was a fluke and that my traffic would die down shortly after.  I was wrong.  (It doesn’t happen often, so enjoy it!  😉   )  I ended that month with 8,903 total views, far more than the 5,000 I was celebrating.  The next month saw over 30,000.  (I know, right?  WTH!??!!)  May was less, but still topped 18,000 and then June clocked in almost 37,000 views.

At some point, I’m sure I’ll hit the plateau I thought I had hit in February, but until then I guess I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing and try not to look at the numbers.  lol.  It’s very daunting when I look at the numbers.  I’m not one to let others affect my opinions/decisions, but I have to admit I do feel pressure to keep providing the kind of information I do so that the people that do choose to come here find things that help them.  I won’t always have the best information though, or even what you want to find.  One person can only do so much.  But if I can find it on another blog or fansite, I’ll point people to it like I always try to do.

There’s no way to say what the future will hold for this blog, but I do know of a couple things coming soon:

  • The much-delayed revamp to the Armor Guide.  I know, I say all the time that it’s almost done, but have you seen how big that thing is?  lol.  It’s very time-consuming but it should be well worth the wait.
  • More US Tour posts!  For those that have been following, commenting and who I’m hopefully on my way to meet, there will be an update on the plan for the second leg of the Tour before the weekend is over.  I’m going to do my best to get to as many places as possible in this part of the trip, but there are some scheduling conflicts that may cause me to skip some places.  We’ll see what happens.
  • More Land of the Dead posts!  I’ve been spending a lot of time in the zone this last week and hopefully have all I need to make a couple more guides for people as well as an overall review of how I think the zone ended up on Live.
  • And finally, I should be making an appearance in the Warhammer Alliance Podcast soon!  I spent about three hours on Skype with Frank and crew earlier this week, which was a blast, and a much-edited version should hit WA sometime soon.  Unless Frank gets mad at me and soundboards me instead.  Frank, if you’re considering it, all I have to say is “Sombrero!”  😉

I can’t end the post without another big thank you though.  Without the following blogs/fansites/people/etc, this blog wouldn’t be where it is today.

  • Everyone at Blog Warhammer and their Age of Blogging initiative back in January.  I’d been contemplating a blog for a while but just didn’t like the examples I had seen in the past and didn’t want to be “that kind of blog”.  The Age of Blogging and some of the blogs there were the tipping point that got me to start though.
  • Warhammer Alliance and their WAR Community Promotion Initiative.  The WCPI has seen a lot of members disappear but has also seen some new people come on board, so I’m excited about its future.  I’ve been slacking on my WCPI posts 😦  but I’m hoping to have more up soon.  A dwarf can only blog so much!
  • Everyone at Mythic for helping to make a game that inspires me to keep blogging about it.  Making an MMO nowadays is no easy task, especially with bloggers out there critiquing your every move.  :p  Keep your heads high and stick to your vision and no matter how things end up, you can be proud of what you tried to do.
  • Finally, Mark Jacobs.  Random right?  Not so much actually.  It was his blog that got me to thinking heavily on doing one of my own.  Previously, I had abhorred blogs that used a conversational style for their posts.  Granted, most were about what they did that day or whatnot which is probably more what I didn’t like.  Maybe I just hadn’t been exposed to many blogs, but Mark’s was the first where I saw the conversational style used to not just tell stories, but to convey information.  I never would have seriously considered my own blog if it weren’t for his, so to Mark:  Thank you for your blog and your contributions to the gaming world.

So, until the next milestone, thank you everyone.  I now return you to your regularly scheduled WAR…

~Gaar

p.s.  What should my next milestone be?  I never thought about it because I didn’t think I’d get this far.  lol.  Should it be a daily/weekly/monthly number?  Another overall number?  Subscribers?  I’m not necessarily going to cater to one type or another, but I’m a goal-oriented person so not having one, even an outrageous one, seems weird to me.  :p  Think about it and let me know what you think in the comments section.  Here’s some “milestones” I’ve hit so far just in case you were wondering.

  • 100,000 total views
  • Average subscribers of around 100.  Peak of 175 per Feedburner.
  • Busiest day : 4,743 views
  • Busiest week : 15,793 views
  • Busiest month : 36,927 views
  • Post count : 60
  • Podcast appearances : 1  (hehe)
  • Nods by Mythic : 2 (1 semi-silent one when they made me an Oracle, 1 public one with the June newsletter)

Now, the last three aren’t really things I shoot for, but I do consider them milestones. hehe.  Anyway, in my mind I’ve hit all the important ones and really don’t know where to go from here.  Let me know what you think.  Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 6:37 pm

    Grats on the 100k!

    Really, you shouldn’t be all that surprised though. You have some of the best WAR content on the interwebz. I hope that you’ll be around for a long long time. The WAR blog community wouldn’t be the same without ya!

    Next milestone – 10k in a day 😉

    • gaarawarr permalink
      July 3, 2009 7:27 pm

      Thanks man. As for 10k in one day…. hehe

  2. July 4, 2009 4:55 am

    Congratulations!

    It is amazing how quickly a blog can take off. Some LotD posts on my blog are setting record numbers for me…the first day LotD patched my google analytics went off the charts. My blog views was up something crazy like 8000% or something close to that. I thought it was a mistake or something.

  3. July 4, 2009 6:56 pm

    Nice work there, Gaar. I’m glad you enjoyed being on the podcast. The holidays have delayed the editing but I’m hopeful to get it going soon.

Leave a Reply

