Skip to content

GG: The US Tour – SoCal

June 18, 2009

Herein lies Days 1 and 2 of the official Gaarawarr Gabs US Tour.  For those that have no clue what I’m talking about, go read this post and it will make more sense.  hehe

~Gaar

So, as things would have it, I started the first part of my trip about 3 hours late. 

/sigh 

Oh well, no biggie.  With things like this, you just have to roll with the punches.  For those of you that have driven from the Bay Area to SoCal before, you know this trip, at least through Grapevine, is boring as hell.  For those of you that haven’t, it’s basically a long, straight freeway with  a 70 mph speed limit surrounded by….nothing.  Seriously.  Every now and then civilization will pop up in the form of gas stations and fast food restaurants, but that’s about it other than farms growing…..nothing.  WTH?  I wish I could have taken a picture, but they had signs up that said “Congress-created Dust Bowl”.  I guess that answer the question.  /sigh

Anyway, I hit LA around dusk and then hit literal stop-and-go traffic as I got closer to Anaheim.  Apparently they had a chemical spill and turned 4 lanes of traffic into 1.  That’s not good anywhere, but it’s horrid in and around LA.  By the time I got thru it was around 9.30 pm and I was beat.  As luck would have it, I hit Anaheim right at that time and was greeted by the Disneyland fireworks.  God I love those things.  They instantly inspired me to just stop in Anaheim for the nite and try to get a room at one of the Disney hotels.  Doing that, I could potentially wake up in the morning and spend the first half of the day in Disneyland.  Hell yeah!disneyland marquee

So I took the Disney exit from the freeway, found a place to park at one of the hotels, walked in and was told there was no room in the inn.  All three of the hotels were sold out on a Wednesday for some reason.  Grrrrr…  So I ended up at the Sheraton Park Hotel right across from the park instead.  Not bad, but not Disney.  I still planned on getting up early and going to the park for a few hours before having to check out, but as luck would have it I totally slept thru my alarm and woke up with like 30 minutes to check out time.  /facepalm

You know what they say about the best laid plans of Dwarfs and Men.

So instead of a morning full of the wonders of Disney, I hopped back on the freeway and headed south.  I apparently hit San Diego faster than I thought because while I was totally rocking out to music and thinking about stuff, I drove right thru San Diego and ended up at the border.  The US border.  Seriously.  I don’t know what’s up with my luck so far, but I’m not liking it.n_sign

After a quick re-route, I headed back to SD, nabbed a hotel room (Holiday Inn Express) and unpacked.  So now I’m back where I technically started, I’ve run most of my errands and I have an appointment to get the air conditioning fixed on the truck in the morning.  (Gonna need that methinks. hehe)  I also plan on picking up a GPS for the trip, so that means a trip to Best Buy.  Depending on how long it takes them to fix my AC, I may catch a movie as well.  Not much I can do without wheels, so the rest of the things I want to do here will have to wait on that. 

So until my errands are done, in San Diego I’ll be.  Las Vegas is supposed to be next on the list of stops.  Hopefully I’ll have a more interesting story for that part of the trip.  What can I say, parts of this Tour are just going to be boring. hehe

’til the next stop,

~Gaar

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2009 10:17 am

    If you pass through Chicago, as you were tempted to on Twitter, let me know. With enough prep, I can give you an abbreviated culinary tour, yes?

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 19, 2009 11:42 am

      Sounds like it’s making it on the list of possible stops, yeah. hehe. I have a feeling the second leg of the Tour is going to be busy. :p

  2. Droid permalink
    June 19, 2009 2:25 pm

    Don’t know if you’ve swung out to get the GPS yet, but I’d recommend Fry’s over Best Buy. I generally find their pricing to be more reasonable.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 19, 2009 4:15 pm

      Yeah, I would have done that but I was on foot as the truck is having the AC fixed. Best Buy was really my only option. Oh well, picked up the Garmin Nuvi 255wt. We’ll see how it works out. :p

Leave a Reply

