Skip to content

A Ward by any other name…

May 11, 2009

So if you’ve watched all the video footage from Baltimore over at Warhammer Alliance, then you’ll already know that the Ward system is changing.  (What do you mean you haven’t watched it yet?  Get over there right meow!)  Here’s a quick rundown of the basic information that has been supplied so far.

The term “sigil” got thrown around but it’s hard to tell if that’s referring to a set of specific wards or if the name is changing completely.

Wards will now be linked to your Tome and not to specific armor pieces.  What this means is once you unlock a ward in your tome, you can wear any armor piece you want and aren’t locked in to that specific set-piece.  This is huge.  I’m on the fence about it though.  One the one hand, I love that I can wear anything, or nothing, and be warded.  On the other hand, I can see people min-maxing setups that weren’t intended for certain dungeons and just ripping thru them like they weren’t even there.  We’ll see what happens.

Unlocking your wards will happen in a variety of ways.  Just like now, looting the corresponding armor piece will get you that ward unlocked in your Tome.  However, if you kill the Boss that drops that piece X times and never get the piece, you’ll still unlock the ward.  Nice.  Also, you don’t even have to go near dungeons if you don’t want to.  There will be RvR goals for unlocking wards as well.

Keep in mind though, just because you can unlock wards and wear any armor you want doesn’t mean said armor sets won’t be desirable.  Ultimately what this option seems to allow is for us as players to decide how we want to gear up our characters without being locked into certain paths for certain content.

Right about now, I’m hating that I just deleted my “of Ruin” set as it was one of my favorite sets on my Ironbreaker, but it had no wards.  I may have to go farm pieces again.  :p

As always, once we get specifics on exactly how this will work, I’ll update the appropriate posts.  So, expect to see some major revisions to my Armor Guide soon, above what I already had planned for it apparently….as if I didn’t have enough to do to it.  hehe

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mykiel permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:40 pm

    Obliterator Armor here I come.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      May 11, 2009 7:56 pm

      Don’t tempt me to use the IB Redeye set with my Oathstone rings. Can you say 20% Corrosion proc?

    • Mykiel permalink
      May 12, 2009 2:36 am

      consider yourself Double Dog Dared

  2. May 12, 2009 4:08 am

    I would have breached protocol and skipped past the double dog and went straight for the dreaded triple dog dare.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      May 12, 2009 5:06 am

      Stop giving him ideas.

  3. May 13, 2009 3:25 am

    I saw in a mythic podcast last month that they warned people to keep their RvR reward gear around. I can’t wait to use +crit in a dungeon.

  4. AncientCrone permalink
    May 18, 2009 3:22 am

    Looks like they’ve covered everyone else but me. I play PvE *only* and usually run either solo or with one other person. My main is lvl 40 rr16 and I’d have a hard time doing dungeons by myself with the mostly green gear I get from PvE drops.

    Choice is wonderful. Too bad I don’t have one. 😦

    • gaarawarr permalink
      May 18, 2009 5:51 am

      To be honest, there shouldn’t be a solo option for Wards. Even in RvR, the options aren’t solo-able, they require teamwork. Sure, you might be able to do one or two of them solo eventually, but the rest must be done with the help of others. That’s what an MMO is all about.

Leave a Reply

