Skip to content

The First (and second) 5,000

March 17, 2009

Everyone has a different idea about what constitutes a memorable milestone for blogs. Some choose things like averages, whether they be hits per day, week or month. Some choose flat numbers for things like hits per day or total subscribers. (Big shout-out to Girl IRL and her recent 100-subscriber milestone, btw.)  In the end though, it’s all about what feels like a milestone to you, in my opinion.

For me, my first milestone was just starting the blog and getting my first post up.  It was short and to-the-point, a rarity for me when it comes to my posts it seems, but it was a milestone for me nonetheless.  Then my first double-digit view day, my first comment, my first mention on another site, my first triple-digit view day, etc.  They were all important milestones to me because they all signified progress.

What started as a place for me to rant or rave about whatever caught my attention or to compile information about things that matter to me turned into something people were coming to visit.  Whether it was to get information about how City Sieges work and Armor Sets or to just read my views on the psychology of WAR or my rant about the lack of support for Friends Lists in MMOs.  Or even my horrible attempts at cross-promoting other blogs. (Breakfast at WAR, WAAAGH!, Way of the Chosen, Cry Me a RvR)  I’ll get better at it, I promise.

However, today I awoke to a double-milestone for me.  A total of 5,000 views for my blog since inception and my first 5,000-view month.  For me, that’s a major milestone day.  For those that like stats, like me, here’s a quick history.

January – 11 total views, average of ~3 per day

February – 314 total views, average of ~11 per day  (Heck, I was excited and happy back here. :p )

March – over 5,000 total views so far, averaging ~300 per day so far

Ironically, I still know next-to-nothing about how my blog, or blogs in general, works.  I constantly find things that I didn’t know were there and get tips from people about things I should have known about from the start.  I have no idea how many people subscribe to my blog, if any, because I had no idea how to track that or offer it until Girl IRL helped me out.  (thx again)  But hey, you gotta start somewhere.

What I do know about my blog is that it wouldn’t have started without the Age of Blogging initiative, it wouldn’t have the views it does without help from the WCPI, and I wouldn’t have anything to write about if it weren’t for WAR.   So to all of you that made this milestone possible for me, I thank you.

Now, I think I’ll treat myself to a reward.  Maybe some Girl Scout Cookies…mmm….

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 12:04 pm

    My blog is my first, as well. It’s amazing how much I’ve learned about blogging and just internet shanagins in general. Just learned about Gravatars yesterday!!! Anyhow, gratz on your milestone and keep it up.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 17, 2009 1:01 pm

      Yeah, I still haven’t gone near the whole gravatar thing…we’ll see what happens.

  2. March 17, 2009 12:23 pm

    Congrats on 5,000 views. I only started using a hit counter in mid-Feb, so I’m not sure how many views I have had total. That’s why I’m using subscribers to track my progress. Though, as a friend on Twitter pointed out, there are probably half again as many people who read my blog without using an RSS feed, either by navigating directly to the site or using my Twitter feed to check for updates. My boyfriend doesn’t really use a feed reader, so I am sure there are others like him who go to the actual blog to read the content.

    Hope my feedburner/google analytics info helped. 😀

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 17, 2009 1:02 pm

      Well, views are one thing this place tracks it seems. The subscription thing doesn’t seem to be tracked at all. I tried to set up the Feedburner one, but who knows if I did it right. We’ll see what happens. I never use a reader personally, so never bothered with it. I’ll get it sorted eventually I’m sure.

  3. Omelettez permalink
    March 17, 2009 1:55 pm

    Back when Pancakez and I started breakfast at war, he had mentioned that he would be happy with just 10 hits a day. Now we’re averaging way more than we imagined. Who knew!

    Congrats on the 5k hits. That’s kickass! And don’t sweat the blog stuff. It’ll come to you over time. Not to mention you have an awesome community around you that is wicked helpful.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 17, 2009 4:42 pm

      Thanks and just an fyi, I really wasn’t trying to copy your theme. lol. Didn’t even realize it until I dropped by your site the other day. 😦 Just not a lot of great options imo with wordpress.com that I find functional and attractive at the same time.

  4. Syp permalink
    March 17, 2009 1:56 pm

    That’s huge man, congrats! It took me a long time to get over that first 5,000, believe it or not.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 17, 2009 4:43 pm

      Oh, I’m sure it would have taken a while if not for the WCPI. All most sites need is that initial door-opener and as long as they have things of interest, people will keep coming back it seems.

  5. Sharon permalink
    March 17, 2009 2:25 pm

    Congratulations from one of your feed readers! I was going to recommend Feedburner, but I see you mentioned already setting it up. 🙂

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 17, 2009 4:44 pm

      Thanks for reading, I just hope I set it up right. lol

  6. theerivs permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:03 am

    Congo rats on your success. Personally I write for me. I never get into the feeds, and views and such. What I enjoy is when I get a discussion going among people, thats when I get my rocks off.

  7. March 21, 2009 8:38 am

    nice work, thats great news keep the great posts coming and the number of page views can only increase

  8. Runer permalink
    April 28, 2009 6:33 am

    I come here at least once a week, since last 2 week, every day 😉

    You deserve succes Gaar! I remember back on REM, glad we moved on same server!

  9. June 4, 2009 8:47 pm

    That is great man. Cheers to you and your blog. I hope you’re around a long long time!

Trackbacks

  1. A Humble Thank You « Gaarawarr Gabs

Leave a Reply

