Skip to content

WCPI – Week 3

March 15, 2009

So this week for my WCPI shout-out, I went to to the darkside….errr….the Destruction side.  Two bloggers in the WCPI are also on my new server, but play on the Destruction side of things so I figured I’d walk a mile in their shoes and do some reading.

My first stop was over at Way of the Chosen, followed by a trip to Cry Me a RvR.  I very much enjoyed reading what they had to say about the game and their classes.  It’s always humorous to me to see the same things being complained about or pointed out on both sides of the fence.  I think that was what more influenced my choices of reading material this week more than anything else.

I find myself always choosing what I deem to be the side of “good” but which is arguable in most cases.  A Rebel in Star Wars Galaxies, a Pirate in Pirates of the Burning Sea, a Dwarf in both Vanguard and now Warhammer.  In the end, there is no “good” or “bad”, just different choices.  You pick the class/race you think you’ll have the most fun with and go for it.  At least, that’s how I do it.  In some cases, it’s based on personal preference.

In the case of Dwarves, I’ve always liked them since I first read the Icewind Dale Trilogy.  There’s just something about their personalities that rings true to me, so I tend to want to play them in games.

The Rebel was more of a “because it made sense for my character” kind of thing.  I was a Wookiee.  It just didn’t make sense to me to join the Empire.  Besides, Chewbacca rules.  As an aside, I’ve got some nice signed collectibles from Peter Mayhew.  He’s a great guy and I always enjoy talking to him at conventions.

The Pirate was, well, because Pirates were some of the first, true followers of Democracy.  I’m not talking about the Privateers we think of as Pirates, like Captain Henry Morgan.  No, I’m talking about the Pirates that were forced into servitude on Naval and trade ships and then rebelled.  The ones that believed that they were all equal and every man deserved their fair share.  Their leaders were voted into the Captain role and only stayed there as long as they kept the crew happy.  That was the Pirate I played and why I chose that side over the others.

In the end though, it’s just a game.  People choose sides and fight it out on the battlefield, but it ends there.  I’ve had a lot of fun meeting peopel from games from both sides and laughing over stories while shutting down bars.  That’s what a hobby is about and despite what people say about MMOs, they’re not just games.  Pac-Man was a game and a great one, but MMOs are hobbies.  You invest time and energy while sharing your experience with those around you.

But anyway, back to my hobby.  See you on the battlefield.  ~Gaar

4 Comments leave one →
  1. theerivs permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:50 am

    Come to the darkside, we have cookies. Interesting take on Pirates. Thanks for the love.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 16, 2009 1:46 pm

      I like cookies, but I already have people on Order that say they’ll make them for me. :p And I’ll definitely be talking about both your blogs again. I was a bit too out of it yesterday to really give either of them the time they deserve, but I’ll fix that.

  2. March 21, 2009 7:32 pm

    Great post, but its a bit long and most people like short and sweet posts!

    • gaarawarr permalink
      March 21, 2009 11:54 pm

      Um, yeah, short and sweet is not in my repertoire. That would be obvious if you’d looked at any of my other posts. :p

Leave a Reply

