Skip to content

Epic Game Incoming

June 24, 2010

So while I usually only tend to blog about WAR, occasionally something comes along that makes me break from tradition and post about it.

Such is the case with the game I bring to you today, one that somehow avoided my radar until now.  ~glares at his apparently broken radar~

Ladies and Gentleman, prepare yourself for what could possibly be the most epic gaming experience ever.

I hereby present to you:

Naughty Bear

You have been warned.

~Gaar

Naughty Bear

So I saw the launch trailer for this today and, after I watched it again then picked my jaw up off the floor, I started looking for more information on it.  Whoever came up with this is brilliant, as is the team around them it would seem.  From the general overall concept to the teaser videos they released, this has epic written all over it.  It looks like it releases in the UK this week and in the US next week.  Hopefully the actual game-play is as awesome as it looks.  If so, I might have a new addiction.  ;)

Before I start blathering about how giddy this game is making me at the moment or how I have a feeling I just found my Halloween costume for this year, take a look at the trailer that started off my new obsession.

Anyone else catch the Unicorn Bear (Unibear) in there?  Or the Zombie Bears (Zombears)?  Seriously, these people are genius.

As you can tell from the trailer, the basic premise is that Naughty Bear didn’t get invited to another bear’s party and he decides to get revenge by doing all sorts of naughty things to to them up to, and including, killing them off.  Good times, good times.

There are over 250 ways to be naughty and you earn points by both doing naughty things and by having other bears witness the things you’re doing.  Which is key in my opinion since it means you actually don’t necessarily always want to kill off the other bears because the more that see what you’re doing, the more points you can earn.  Not that that’s going to stop me from making my first play-session goal the utter and complete eradication of every bear on that island.  Muahahahahahaha!

As if just enjoying all this by myself wasn’t enough, there’s an online multiplayer mode!

Could this be a great new addition to competitive tournament gaming?  I think so.  :p

So…did anyone else notice the Blue Bear committing seppuku at the end of that clip?  Did I forget to mention you can cause the other bears to go insane from fear and commit suicide?  Hmmm…sorry, probably should have mentioned that.  ~giggle~

So as if the game-play videos weren’t awesome enough in their own rights, then they have to go and make these random teaser videos.  The first ones here are basically nightmares the other bears are having because Naughty is stalking them.  Kudos to whoever came up with and implemented these as they’re spot-on.

A Naughty Nightmare – Part 1: Alien

A Naughty Nightmare – Part 2: Blair Witch

A Naughty Nightmare – Part 3: Jaws

A Naughty Nightmare – Part 4: The Ring

Fabulous.  I almost wish the game wasn’t coming out so they’d make more.  :)

They didn’t stop there though, they also made a series of videos called “The Book of Naughty” (which sounds like a great name for a book in any right).  It’s basically showing some of the different ways you can kill off bears on the island.

The Book of Naughty

#135 – Power Outage

#99 – Pick n’ Mix

#162 – Smoke Signals

#25 – Snap Happy

#86 – Naughty Kill

#207 – Hide ‘n Seek

Am I the only one hoping there’s an in-game Book of Naughty that tracks all the ways you’ve found to kill people in a numbered fashion like this?  :p

The fun doesn’t stop there though.  Apparently there are some special pre-order outfits you can get that fit very well with the theme of this game, one from Amazon and the other from GameStop.

Amazon – Freddy Krubear

GameStop – Naughty Slasher (Jason)

I’m torn.  I don’t even know if I can still pre-order, but I want them both!  lol…sigh.  I have a feeling I’ll be MIA for a few days after this launches as I’ll be on the couch with the PS3 fired up finding out just how many ways there really are to kill a bear in this game.  ;)

I’ll leave you for now with this clip of Naughty at E3 getting clown-piled.

Have fun!

~Gaar

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Maladorn permalink
    June 24, 2010 2:02 pm

    Now, come on! You can’t go give a raving review like that and then make me go off somewhere else to discover that it’s not available for PC (least not at Gamestop).

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 24, 2010 3:24 pm

      Yeah, I am a bit upset that it’s only listed as available for PS3 and XBox 360. But that doesn’t make it any less awesome. hehe

  2. June 24, 2010 2:04 pm

    lol. bears. only thing better is bear cavalry.

  3. Lyram permalink
    June 24, 2010 3:00 pm

    I wish there were more to report on regarding WAR. I guess we’re in a pre-pts lull.

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 24, 2010 3:25 pm

      There could be a million things to talk about in regards to WAR and I still would have stopped to post about this game. It looks to be worth it.

  4. Reborn8 permalink
    June 24, 2010 8:19 pm

    It’s different. I’ll say that.

  5. June 24, 2010 9:41 pm

    epic

  6. shadowwar permalink
    June 25, 2010 12:40 pm

    Looks fun, but I had to laugh at the website.

    “Chose a language:
    -United States
    -United Kingdom
    -Australia
    …”

    Wait, don’t we all speak the same English?

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 25, 2010 2:26 pm

      It probably has more to do with the release date information from what I can tell. It came out earlier in the UK than here in the US. Who knows though.

      However, no, we don’t all speak the same English. UK vs US English is quite a bit different. hehe

  7. Steven permalink
    June 25, 2010 2:00 pm

    I had to preorder this after watching the videos. Thanks Gaar!

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 25, 2010 2:24 pm

      Which platform? hehe. I’m looking forward to knocking the stuffing out of people in multiplayer on the PS3. :p

    • Steven permalink
      June 28, 2010 11:00 am

      Unfortunately for you, I have a 360.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

