Skip to content

I <3 WAR Blogs

June 1, 2010

So when Werit, Andrew, Mykiel and I walked into the Mythic HQ for the Blaaagher Invasion a while back, we ran smack into Paul Barnett wearing this shirt:

We then all wore them the next day for a super-secret video shoot.  (As an aside, the darker version of the two scripts is still my favorite.  hehe)

They made it fairly clear that inviting members of the blogging community out to visit was something they wanted to do on a regular basis.  No doubt some would say that might be one reason we’ve seen a resurgence in WAR blogs lately.  However, regardless of the reasons, the larger and more invested the online WAR community becomes, the better for everyone that plays.

So, before I announce the second round of giveaways I’m doing, let’s take a look at some WAR blogs, both new and old!

Enjoy!

~Gaar

WAR Blogs

So for those that haven’t noticed, I do keep a blogroll on the right-hand side of the site and it’s chock full of various blogs, WAR-related and otherwise.  (Seriously, look to the right.)  I tend to hit each and every one of them a couple times a week, usually while waiting for Scenarios to pop or while people are AFK on dungeon runs.  hehe

Some of them have been around a while now, at least in WAR blogging terms, and have basically earned Veteran status.  These would be blogs like Bootae‘s, Grimnir‘s, and the ones I linked above.  The majority of the rest of my blogroll is made up of new or returning bloggers.

Each one has their own style, so make sure to hit them all up and peruse some of the posts to see if they have the type of stuff you’re interested in reading.  However, here are a couple currently on my “Must Read” list:

  • i <3 gorfang – From their profile: “This blog contains absolutely nothing useful or informative and should not be read by anyone, ever.”  I beg to differ.  Arisechicken has one of the funniest WAR blogs out right now with a near-perfect blend of wit, sarcasm and irreverent humor.  This blog should be read by everyone, period.
  • Thrangis the Red – I have a love/hate relationship with this blog.  I love it because it’s bite-sized diary-like entries done from a Dwarf’s perspective as the blogger levels up in WAR.  I hate it because I didn’t think of it first.  ;)  Absolutely a fabulous read.  I truly hope this spawns other blogs like this for other races/classes.  A gobbo one done right would have me wetting myself I think.  Go.  Read.  Be inspired.

Regardless of your tastes, there’s sure to be a WAR blog out there for you now with so many starting up.  If there’s one you don’t see on the list, definitely let me know and I’ll go check them out.

More Free Stuff!!!

So, to add onto the stuff I’m giving away in this post, I also have some of those wonderful codes for free stuff in WAR.  These were given to me by an ex-WAR player who had hoarded them from different events and never used them.  Gotta love it.

What kind of codes are they?  Well, they are things like the always fun Skaven Skin Cloak, Chompin’ Teef, Snorri’s Spikes, Shroud of Imrathepis and more!

So, all this week I’ll be posting them up for grabs via Twitter.  If you don’t have an account and want free stuff, go sign up here.  I’ll give a heads up shortly before I post them to make it easier for everyone.  Remember, with things like this it’s first come, first served as once it’s used it’s gone.

That’s it for today.  Check back tomorrow for (hopefully) an epic new guide to be posted!  Until then…

Have fun!

~Gaar

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 11:26 pm

    Mate, as an avid skaven player of warhammer fantasy battles (i can show you a picture of my horde if you like) I can’t wait for that skaven skin cloak and hope to get it!

  2. June 2, 2010 12:03 am

    I’m proud to have my blog on the right.

    I agree, with arisechicken as being the ROFL blog. When I advertise my blog I make sure to include chicken’s because chicken is the bestest EVAR.

  3. June 2, 2010 2:32 pm

    I will never get a place in the right bar… ;)

  4. Lia Bete Noire permalink
    June 2, 2010 11:39 pm

    Cool contests Gaar!

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 3, 2010 12:35 am

      I tried. hehe

  5. June 3, 2010 12:57 am

    Thanks for liking my blog so much Gaar! I was trying to figure out why I was getting so many hits today. xP

    • gaarawarr permalink
      June 3, 2010 2:50 pm

      Keep up the good work man. Consistency is everything.

  6. June 4, 2010 5:02 pm

    I just lost out on the last code. The code worked, I told it what account to apply it to.. but I forgot to click the confirm button.. I was excited that it was a item I didn’t have. :(

    Maybe a I’ll win a T-shirt.

Trackbacks

  1. 500k Celebration Week Posts and Contests! « Gaarawarr Gabs
  2. WAAAGH! t-shirt « Artiee Punts!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

