Skip to content

The Ironclad: The Preview Night

February 19, 2010

Last night players got a chance to preview the first Weekend Warfront scenario (also knows as the Scurvy Dogs Live Event) : The Ironclad.

As a Dwarf, and a lover of all things Pirate, I had been waiting for this for a long time…and boy was I not disappointed!

Let’s take a quick peak at what’s in store for us after 1.3.4 goes live.

Enjoy!

~Gaar

Nothing different here.  You queue up just like normal.  The major difference is:  it’s a 6v6 scenario!  No more setting up a pre-made and having to worry about who else hops into your scenario.  This time, it’s all up to your group and your group alone.

That doesn’t mean you have to run a pre-made though.  While there will probably still be a few scenarios you get without a healer (ouch), the difference isn’t as bad as it would be in a 12-man scenario.  In here, pugs can still have a chance if they play smart.

Order Loading Area

If you take a look at the map, it is a very small scenario map.  However, the map is deceptive.  There are multiple levels inside the ship.  Order currently starts at the bottom in the cargo hold while Destruction starts on a boarding ship off the port bow.  (We’re at sea now, so nautical terms apply.  ;)  Port is left, starboard is right.  Bow is front, stern is back.  Oh, and the bathroom is called the head.  There isn’t one here though.  I looked.  You’ll just have to hang it over the side.)

The Engine Room

Along with many levels, there are also tons of little corridors and an awesome little window looking down on the Engine Room that you can attack/jump through.  Good times.

You don’t just fight inside the ship though, you also fight on the walkways on the side and up on top.  Keep in mind, there are no invisible walls here, so you may end up taking a dip if someone is punt-happy. (Like me.  Oh so punt-happy…)  If you get knocked into the water, look for a Sea Mine and get to it.  When it explodes, it launches you up onto the deck of the ship again.  If you stay in the water too long, you’ll drown, so hurry!

The moment I found this out, I made it my personal mini-game to punt people right onto the mines just so I could watch them fly back through the air away from me, hit the mine, then immediately fly way up into the air again to another part of the ship.  ~giggle~  SO MUCH FUN!!!

Sea Mine – They’re all around the Ironclad

If you ever find a break in the action, look up.  The ship is surrounded by Airships, both Order and Destruction, and they’re fighting each other.  Little gyrocopters and wyvern are flying back and forth in combat as well.  Really nice detail here…not that you get much of a chance to look up…hehe.

The Order Airship

A lot of talk about this scenario before it was ever tested focused on this being an AOE-Only scenario.  I’m not so sure I agree after having played it.  We did not run an AOE group.  In fact, we only had 1 DPS with us and they were a Shadow Warrior.  Despite that, we won every fight, including ones against both melee and magic AOE groups.  The tight corridors, multitudes of corners and punt-ability of the upper deck make this a very strategic scenario for any kind of group…as long as you play intelligently.  (Aha!  I knew there was a catch…)

Now, The Ironclad isn’t just a scenario, it’s also a Live Event called Scurvy Dogs.  I would be remiss in my duties if I didn’t give a sneak peak at what they have in store for that as well.  Keep in mind, everything is subject to change before it goes live…

The Task/Reward Pages

As you can see, it’s a very straightforward Live Event centered around running the scenario and killing people…lots and lots of people.  The first thing that I found interesting was the /swear task.  It’s not limited to just the Realm you’re fighting.  You have to /swear to everyone.  Very fitting of a Dwarf-themed scenario!  Of course, this also means you can’t just run your same old pre-made over and over to complete the Event…you’re gonna have to switch it up to swear to your whole Realm.

The /swear List

The second thing that caught my eye was the Elite reward.  It’s called the Vanquisher’s Boon.

Wow.  Now, I don’t know if this is an item or a buff, but who cares. Even if it is a buff that only lasts a couple of days, that works for me.  More tokens?  Yes please!

The Basic and Advanced rewards were very boring, to be honest.  Not sure if they’re just placeholders or the real thing, but they were just heal and fire potions.  meh

As for influence progression, I completed the 500 point task easily in the first scenario and it gave me half credit toward the Basic reward.  At that rate, two tasks will get you Basic, four the Advanced and all five the Elite.  Fairly straightforward.  After just a couple scenarios, I had 70 kills, so you should easily hit 125 by the time you get in all 25 runs you need for the other task.  I totally forgot to run a /swear macro as I was already running more appropriate macros befitting my character’s name for the event…hehe.

There may or may not be a Title associated with completing all the Tasks as well…be on the lookout when it goes live matey!

~Dread Pirate Gaarawarr

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 6:00 am

    Great work! :)

    Yitu

  2. Mez of Gorfang permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:15 am

    map is fail. ever seen organized 6v6? or WoW arena? you need open space. Especially in this aoe healing ezmode game the corridors and multi level lay out doesn’t sound good. Premades are not going to feel like they are proving anything to the other team as so many excuses will be made. I dunno man, Mythic is still tyring to be cute and not real. Shiny. Remember New Frontiers.

    • Mykiel permalink
      February 19, 2010 5:15 pm

      Want some cheese with that whine? So your interwebz cred is going to drop, who the **** cares.

  3. Lith of Gorfang permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:09 am

    This looks awesome, no stupid none-los healing or ranged just an all out brawl, this map is going to be legit.

  4. Lyram permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:42 am

    Upon entering this scenario I thought it looked great! But as a very squishy cloth-wearing healer it was torture against a 3 WP and 3 SL premade. I won’t be solo-queuing for this one on my Zealot. My choppa-laden guild will drag me along in premades though. I may enjoy this more on my engineer.

    • Patriotic permalink
      February 19, 2010 1:37 pm

      My bad >.>

    • gaarawarr permalink
      February 19, 2010 6:32 pm

      Haha..was just gonna say not to feel bad. I know whose pre-made that was and you were going down no matter what. ;)

  5. Dalor permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:39 pm

    Yeah healers are going to be all over the place, tyrant proc ftw i guess :P

  6. Krosuss permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:51 pm

    Awesome recon work, as always!

    I recall reading a producers letter or dev letter that talked about this Weekend Event. I think they did mention a title that would be achievable for the event.

    What I wonder is since the weekend events will rotate … will they be different everytime or will the list of tasks/tome unlocks remain and then grow each time? So if I missed an achievement the first time, will I be able to complete it the next (a la unlocking the “Master Assassin” title during this year’s Night of Murder).

    So I would envision we run this event next weekend … then the following weekend we get a different one. Once all the “retired” scenarios get their opportunity they will start all over again.

  7. Tyanon permalink
    February 19, 2010 2:00 pm

    @Gaarawarr: Nice write-up!

    @Lyram: This is amazing that you posted here. I made mention of some of the zealots we ran into last night and how easily they are run over. As you know, I am trying to garner a bit of sympathy for Zealots on the official forums so I was also trying to convince people to try one in last nights test and give some honest feedback on them.

    Anyways, I was Funsyhnee, one of the slayers in the group you mentioned.

    Cheers.

    • Lyram permalink
      February 19, 2010 5:32 pm

      @Tyanon: I felt so completely shitty after that scenario. Fortunately I felt better in Nordenwatch after withstanding a Lucento attack (although I’m very used to him.) I was using a template instead of my actual toon from Badlands. The main difference in stats is that the template had a %10 chance to be crit, while Lyram on Badlands has 5% (and 410 initiative), but often runs with the crit reduction liniment to bring the chance close to zero. On Badlands I wear 3 Tyrant and 3 DP, whereas the template was full DP.

      I appreciate you recognizing Zealots’ survivability issues. I mostly blame my own lack of ability. (40yo reflexes and tunnel vision susceptibility FTL!) The devs don’t seem terribly interested in the class. Lyram’s going into semi-retirement. I’m going to spend some time on my Shaman and mostly leveling an Engineer on IR.

  8. Xantious permalink
    February 20, 2010 3:04 pm

    OMG! This scenario looks awesome! Strangly enough I made a suggestion in the form of feedback a few months ago that having a sea based SC on a ship would be fun. My guildy’s and alliance mates are going to hate having me in there though, cause I’m throwing all of my sailor terms at them (including the swears!).

  9. kazen permalink
    February 21, 2010 8:17 pm

    omg i so want to try this sc with our premade! i wish im back state side so i can play more WAR :((((

    thanks gar for a good preview~ my hype meter is so high ><

    kazen

  10. Skarim/Corm permalink
    February 23, 2010 5:24 pm

    Yarrrg!!!

Trackbacks

  1. PTS 2010.02.18 « Shadow-war
  2. Da Blog » Blog Archive » Videjó – The ironclad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

